Key Learning Areas

There are seven Key Learning Areas taught at Our Lady of Fatima School. Religious Education is an integral part of the K-6 curriculum and is taught throughout K-6. The school implements the NSW Board of Studies Syllabuses for the Australian Curriculum for the other six academic Key Learning Areas.

Religious Education

The Religious Education Syllabus is central to the learning life of students in the Catholic school. Topics include Liturgical Seasons, the Church, Prayer, Mission and Justice and relationships with Self, Others and the World. Students and their families are supported in this through the use of the resource books To Know Worship and Love, which is a compulsory text.


This involves developing the skills needed to read widely with understanding and enjoyment; to spell accurately; to write grammatically in a variety of forms; to understand the function of language; to listen and communicate effectively in a variety of situations; and to assess critically good literature.

Visual literacy and relevant computer skills are also included in English.


This involves learning the basics of number, space and measurement, developing calculating, reasoning, predicting and verifying skills, developing students’ ability to think mathematically and laying foundations for future study of Mathematics.

Science & Technology

This involves skills of enquiry, investigating, designing and problem-solving; gaining knowledge and understanding about natural and modified environments and people's interaction with them; acquiring knowledge of design processes; and understanding the interaction of technology and society.

Human Society & Its Environment

This involves developing investigation, communication and social skills; gaining knowledge and understanding about the history of Australia, its geography, social institutions and place in the world; developing a commitment to maintaining or improving the environment; exploring, comparing and appreciating religious and moral beliefs and values; learning about other cultures and languages.

Creative Arts

This involves developing technical competence and skills of designing and performing; and learning appreciation and self-expression in visual and performing arts.

Personal Development, Health & Physical Education

Personal Development, Health & Physical Education: This involves learning to develop an active healthy lifestyle; developing skills in interpersonal relationships and positive values, attitudes and beliefs; participating in regular physical activity. A compulsory two-week Swimming School is held in Term 4. External providers support the Dance and Gymnastics strands of the PE syllabus. (The Personal Development Area is also addressed in the Religious Education Curriculum).