History

The history of the Our Lady of Fatima Parish begins on 14 March 1948 when Fr Eamon Clune, an enthusiastic Irish priest, was appointed to the new Parish of Kingsgrove-Bexley North.

On 13 March, 1949 the foundation stone for Our Lady of Fatima Parish Church was laid by Cardinal Gilroy. Soon after, in 1951, Fr Clune galvanised support from the community for the building of a parish primary school. Fr Clune arranged for the Ursuline sisters currently teaching at St. Bernadette’s, Bexley North to close their school and relocate their students to the new parish school in Shaw Street, Kingsgrove.

On 27 January 1953, the feast day of St Angela Merici, Our Lady of Fatima School opened with approximately 300 girls and boys from Kindergarten to Year 2. The founding principal was Sister Loreto Cleary osu. By 1956 the school population totalled 500 students, with 108 in Kindergarten! This was the first year that a Year 6 class finished their primary schooling at Our Lady of Fatima.

Over the years there have been many significant events at Our Lady of Fatima School, including a significant fire in 1960 resulting in a total rebuild, and the changeover from Ursuline Sisters to a lay principal and teachers. In 1999 the closure of the neighbouring De La Salle College enabled the primary school to relocate from its original location in Shaw Street, to refurbished buildings and facilities at the current site in Caroline Street. The refurbished school was opened in 2001. Further refurbishments and improvements have take place in more recent years.

Today, Our Lady of Fatima School is a vibrant two stream primary school catering for boys and girls from Kindergarten to Year 6.