At Holy Spirit Catholic Primary School, we are committed to providing a highly effective educational program based on, and taught in accordance with the NSW Education Standards Authority (NESA) guidelines for Primary Education. There are six Key Learning Areas (KLAs):

      • English
      • Mathematics
      • Science and Technology
      • History
      • Geography
      • Creative Arts
      • Personal Development, Health and Physical Education.

As a Catholic school, our curriculum also includes Religious Education.

Students are taught in four stages:

  • Early Stage 1 (Kindergarten)
  • Stage 1 (Years 1 and 2)
  • Stage 2 (Years 3 and 4)
  • Stage 3 (Years 5 and 6)

Religious Education

Holy Spirit School fosters and nurtures the faith development of the students through Religious Education and religious formation. The teaching and learning in Religious Education follows the Archdiocesan Religious Education Curriculum. The teaching and learning environment is permeated by the Gospel values of love, justice, peace and forgiveness.

Digital Technology

Digital technology is integral to the teaching and learning program. Learning spaces are equipped with a range of digital media, including SmartBoards, chromebooks and iPads, with students encouraged to work with the particular digital device to support their learning.


Through the study of English students learn about the power, value and art of the English language for communication, learning and enjoyment.  Developing proficiency in English enables students to become confident communicators, critical and imaginative thinkers and lifelong learners.  Students develop their language skills through activities involving speaking and listening, reading and writing, and viewing and representing.  They learn about language and literature through working with a wide range of print, spoken, visual, media, multimedia and digital texts.


Mathematics provides students with knowledge, skills and understanding in Number and Algebra, Measurement and Geometry, and Statistics and Probability. It focuses on developing increasingly sophisticated and refined mathematical understanding, fluency, communication, logical reasoning, analytical thought and problem-solving skills. These capabilities enable students to respond to familiar and unfamiliar situations by employing strategies to make informed decisions and solve problems relevant to their further education and everyday lives.

Human Society and Its Environment

Human Society and Its Environment is the study of how humans interact with the world, how society operates and how it is changing.  Through the study of HSIE, students develop the skills to prepare them to actively and responsibly participate as informed citizens in the contemporary world.  HSIE is the Key Learning Area that incorporates History and Geography.

Geography is the study of places and the relationships between people and their environments.  Students learn to question why the world is the way it is, reflect on their relationships with and responsibilities for the world and propose actions in order to become informed, responsible and active citizens.

History stimulates students' interest in and enjoyment of exploring the past, to develop a critical understanding of the past and its impact on the present, to develop the critical skills of historical inquiry and to enable students to participate as active, informed and responsible citizens.

Science and Technology

Through studying Science and Technology students explore scientific and technological concepts and gain knowledge and understanding of the world.  They develop skills in conducting scientific investigations and designing and producing solutions through learning about the Living World, Material World, Physical world, Earth and Space, and Digital Technologies.

Personal Development, Health and Physical Education

Personal Development, Health and Physical Education (PDHPE) develops the knowledge, understanding, skills and attitudes important for students to take positive action to protect and enhance their own and others’ health, safety and wellbeing in varied and changing contexts. Physical education is fundamental to the acquisition of movement skills and concepts to enable students to participate in a range of physical activities – confidently, competently and creatively.

Creative Arts

Creative Arts in K–6 is designed to enable students to gain increasing understanding and accomplishment in the visual arts, music, drama and dance and for students to appreciate the meanings and values that each of the artforms offer personally, culturally and as forms of communication.