About Us

Fr John Therry Catholic Primary School is a systemic co-educational school within the Archdiocese of Sydney.

Our mission is to educate children in the faith, values and traditions of the Catholic Church. We aim to provide each child with the best teaching and learning opportunities to meet his or her individual needs and create an environment that reflects the values and importance which the school community places on the pastoral care of all its members. Our goal is to engage the parent community as vital contributors in all aspects of school life.

The school was founded in 1995 with just 92 students after the amalgamation of St Augustine's, Balmain and St Joseph's, Rozelle. The school services both parishes and has a current enrolment of 350 students. The school was named in honour of the founder of Catholic Education in Australia, Fr John Therry, who was parish priest in Balmain when he died in 1864.

The school is currently situated on two campuses in Balmain. We have 14 classes with a staff of 32 teaching and support staff. We provide our students with an environment rich in resources and technology, and promote professional development as a means of ensuring the best learning opportunities for all students.

Our curriculum emphasises the importance of all Key Learning Areas with particular focus on Religious Education, Literacy, Numeracy and Creative Arts. We offer specialist programs in Visual Arts, Music, Dance, Drama and Physical Education. We also support student learning through various programs such as Reading Recovery, Special and Gifted Education and provide a range of co-curricula activities. We are inclusive of all student needs and abilities and strive to provide the best for all students in our care.

Fr John Therry School is a warm welcoming community that places Jesus Christ at the heart of the school and aims to give all students the best opportunities for their future.


Fr John Therry Catholic Primary School is situated on two campuses that are side by side. In 2019 we undertook a major building project to upgrade the Eaton Street building that houses Administration, Early Stage 1 and Stage 3 classes (Grades K, 5 & 6). This project involves a full building upgrade including renovating all learning spaces, services and administration facilities. This project is due for completion in April 2020. 

The project is being completed in stages to minimise disruption with Administration and Grade 6 remaining on the Eaton Street site and Kindergarten and Grade 5 relocated to the Jane Street Campus for the duration of works. Our Resource Centre (Library & Studio), Stage 1 and Stage 2 classes (Grades 1, 2, 3 & 4) are located on the Jane Street Campus and all programs will run as normal whilst the project is completed.

Each campus has their own staff room, toilets, sports facilities and play areas for students. The two campuses have linked services for phone, security and data. The main playground on Jane Street has a mini Netball, basketball and two Volley ball courts. There is also a rooftop playground with synthetic grass that can be used for handball and as a mini sports field. Shade is provided for students on both locations along with an outdoor learning space on the Jane Street campus. Local parks are also used for sport and play when needed.

More information on our building project can be found by visiting SARM Architects who have designed and will be managing the project. 


School Layout for 2020

  • Eaton Street Campus:
    • Administration
    • Early Stage 1, Kindergarten (2 Home Rooms)
    • Stage 3, Grades 5 & 6 (2 Home Rooms)
  • Jane Street Campus:
    • Stage 1, Grades 1 & 2 (4 Home Rooms)
    • Stage 2, Grades 3 & 4 (4 Home Rooms)