Ways to Give‎ > ‎Events‎ > ‎


2017 Celebration of Giving

        On November 18, we celebrate philanthropy by recognizing outstanding individuals in our region with the

     Sunny Awards.  The Sunny Awards give the Foundation an opportunity to celebrate local philanthropy. The 

     Sunny Awards will be presented to individuals, families, corporations and groups who have made a

     significant difference in our area and make our world brighter. 

        2017 Winners Include:

Barbara Mittermaier, Lassiter Ware, Forward Paths, First Baptist Church, Parrot Head Club, Hadley Village, 

Romac Lumber, Greg Parady, Alex Martinez, Lazarus Clinic

2017 Premier Sponsor:  George Nahas Chevrolet


               The event will be held at Wildwood County Resort from 6pm until 9pm. Tickets can be purchased at:


            The evening will include dinner, awards, entertainment, and a charity auction. You can also call: 

352-409-5761 for tickets, tables or sponsorship opportunities.

Past Sponsors Include:

Leesburg Regional Hospital Foundation, ACE Hardware, Thrivent Financial, Hughes Brothers Construction,

 Bedrock Resources/Dixie Lime, Wildwood Country Resort, Akers Media, Korpman Family, Janette Manning,

 Wendy Staniforth, Marshall Chernin

       Each year, around the world, National Philanthropy Day is set aside to celebrate philanthropy and all it has made possible.  By honoring our community investors for their outstanding support, we are able showcase their generous gifts of time, talents, and treasure.  In honor of National Philanthropy Day, Sumter Sunshine Community Foundation is hosting it's 3rd annual Celebration of Giving.  

     As a community foundation we work all year with outstanding individuals, organizations, corporations and professionals. The Sunny Awards will celebrate and honor the outstanding contribution of time, leadership, financial support and those who have excelled in advancing the spirit of giving.