Southern Tier East represents eight counties as the Local Development District for the Appalachian Regional Commission. Six counties make up the Economic Development District that STE serves for the Economic Development Administration. STE’s member counties are also served by three different New York State Regional Economic Development Councils. These REDC's provide state funds that complement the federal monies leveraged by STE.

Southern Tier East provides specialized planning services and technical assistance to member counties and communities that are home to 591,157 residents across 6239 square miles of rural upstate NY.

The STE Board and New York’s Department of State prioritize federal funding investments across the Region.

Federal partners, ARC and EDA make investments to leverage private sector dollars that increase job opportunities and per capita income, strengthen the capacity of our people to compete in global economies and promote infrastructure improvements to make the region economically competitive.

In addition to our work, STE Staff proudly serves with community leaders on the Boards of:

  1. Binghamton Metropolitan Transportation Study 
  2. Broome County Landbank
  3. New York Association of Regional Councils
  4. Development District Association of Appalachia