News‎ > ‎

Governor Appoints Lt. Governor Donna Lynne, New Commissioners to the Early Childhood Leadership Commission

posted Jul 26, 2016, 8:45 AM by Nicole Grabowski - CDHS
DENVER (July 26, 2016) – The Early Childhood Leadership Commission (ECLC), Colorado’s statewide early childhood advisory council, is thrilled to announce the appointment of six new Commissioners: 

  • Lt. Governor Donna Lynne (Denver) - Co-Chair of ECLC; Interim Director, Department of Higher Education
  • Dr. Jeff Kuhr (Grand Junction) - Executive Director, Mesa County Health Department 
  • Jeanne McQueeney (Eagle) - County Commissioner, Eagle County 
  • Dr. Lydia Prado (Denver) - Vice President of Child and Family Services, Mental Health Center of Denver 
  • Cindy Schulz (Cherry Hills Village) - Executive Director, Cydney and Tom Marsico Family Foundation 
  • George Welsh (Cañon City) - Superintendent, Cañon City Schools 
"I am thrilled to join the work of the ECLC and continue Colorado’s efforts to build a comprehensive, integrated early childhood system,” stated Lt. Governor Lynne, who is serving on the Commission in her capacity as the Interim Director for the Department of Higher Education. “This is an opportunity to reinforce our Administration’s commitment to the wellbeing of all of Colorado’s children and their families.”

"Early childhood policy has seen incredible advancements over the past several years in Colorado," said Anna Jo Haynes, CEO/President Emeritus – Mile High Montessori Early Learning Centers, and Co-Chair of the ECLC. "The ECLC has been, and will continue to be, a steadfast leader in this critical work." 

The ECLC strives to increase the alignment and coordination of programs and services for expectant mothers and young children up to the age of eight. This high-level Governor appointed commission is co-chaired by Lt. Governor Lynne, Anna Jo Haynes and Barbara Grogan, retired Founder and CEO of Western Industrial Contractors. Learn more about the Commission at
Nicole Grabowski - CDHS,
Jul 26, 2016, 8:45 AM