Colorado Sexual Assault Response Project

The Colorado Sexual Assault Response Project (SARP) was developed in response to an identified lack of sexual assault victim accessibility to trained medical forensic examiners in rural areas and difficulties in developing and maintaining a multi-disciplinary team response to sexual assault.

    The Colorado Sexual Assault Response Project has two primary goals
  • Develop or enhance existing Sexual Assault Response Team (SART) programs in conjunction with medical-forensic exam programs; and  
  • Develop locally based Medical Forensic Exam Programs (MFEP) throughout rural Colorado for adult and adolescent victims of sexual assault.

    Sexual Assault Response Teams
  • The SART development program provides a locally based coordinator for SART activities, including SART development with a victim-centered, offender focused approach, protocol development for a community wide multi-disciplinary response to sexual assault, relevant training, and developing a process for and conducting case reviews.

    Medical Forensic Exam Programs
  • This program develops locally based, cost-effective, sustainable and victim-centered MFEPs through coordination with local hospital administrators and training of local medical professionals. The training programs, conducted by Colorado Sexual Assault Nurse Examiners (SANE), consist of a basic training that can range from two to eight hours and covers working with sexual assault victims, Colorado law, the provision of medical forensic exams, and courtroom testimony basics. Additional training, typically two to four hours long, focus on specific areas such as forensic photography, drug-facilitated sexual assault, and experiential courtroom testimony. SARP is developing a clinical practice training program so medical forensic examiners who have completed the basic training program can acquire clinical experience.

  • Ten communities, eight of which are rural, currently participate in this project:
    • 3rd Judicial District, Trinidad
    • 6th Judicial District (Archuleta and La Plata Counties)
    • 9th Judicial District, Glenwood Springs
    • 12th Judicial District (San Luis Valley)
    • 14th Judicial District, Steamboat Springs (Routt County)
    • 16th Judicial District, La Junta
    • 17th Judicial District (Adams/Broomfield Counties)
    • 18th Judicial District (Arapahoe/Douglas and Lincoln Counties)
    • Delta and Montrose Counties
    • Morgan County.
    Sexual Assault Response Project Funding
  • Based at The Colorado Division of Criminal Justice, Office for Victims Programs, the project is funded through a federal “Community Defined Solutions” grant from the Office on Violence Against Women. Funding for the Project originally ran from October 2010 through September 2012. It was continued through 2014 and then the program successfully applied and was awarded an additional grant that runs through September 2017.

Important Links

SARP Grant Reporting Forms