According to Solution Tree, the definition of a Professional Learning Community (PLC) is:
An ongoing process in which educators work collaboratively in recurring cycles of collective inquiry and action research to achieve better results for the students they serve. Professional learning communities operate under the assumption that the key to improved learning for students is continuous job-embedded learning for educators.
According to the Ankeny Community School District, "PLCs share in the responsibility for addressing four fundamental questions:"
What do we want students to learn? (Standards)
How will we know if they have learned? (Assessment)
How will we respond if students do not learn? (Remediation)
How will we respond if students already know it? (Extension)

During the 2011-2012 school year, the Ankeny music department went through the curriculum review process as part of the transition to a two high school feeder system. The process recognized six areas for music curricula:

  • K-5 General Music
  • 5-12 Instrumental Music
  • 6-12 Vocal Music
  • 11-12 Music Fundamentals
  • 11-12 AP Music Theory
  • 10-12 Music Appreciation
The purpose of this site is to detail the vertical instrumental music curriculum being implemented in grades 6-12 in the North feeder system. This includes bands at Prairie Ridge Middle School, Northview Middle School, and Centennial High School.

Students begin band in 5th grade in the Ankeny Community Schools. There are currently four instrumental music teachers working with students across ten elementary schools.

The vertical curriculum begins in 6th grade band. A team of five teachers collaborates to deliver instruction in large group rehearsals and small-group and individual lessons in grades 6-12. Schedules across the three schools are aligned to facilitate the team moving from rehearsal to rehearsal. Students are pulled for lessons from their band, choir, study hall, and open periods.

The pages on this site detail how our PLC works to answer the four fundamental questions above using standards-based practices, formative and summative assessments, a multi-tiered system of supports, and a variety of different technologies.