Riverbend High School's National Honor Society

“National Honor Society” and “NHS” are duly registered trademarks of the National Association of Secondary School Principals (NASSP). Unauthorized copying or use of said trademarks is strictly prohibited.”

The National Association of Secondary School Principals founded the National Honor Society (NHS) in 1921. The purpose of the NHS is “to create enthusiasm for scholarship, to stimulate a desire to render service, to promote leadership and to develop character in the students of secondary schools” (Article I, NHS Constitution).

The Riverbend Chapter of the National Honor Society is a duly chartered and affiliated chapter of this prestigious national organization.  Membership is open to those juniors and seniors who meet the enrollment standard and required standards in four areas of evaluation:  scholarship, leadership, service and character.  Students are selected to be members by a five-member Faculty Council, appointed by Dr. Wright, which bestows this honor upon qualified students on behalf of the faculty each year. Riverbend's Faculty Adviser is Dr. Jean Young.

Membership in the National Honor Society is an honor that a student receives. Selection to NHS is a privilege, not a right. The Riverbend chapter follows the selection procedure recommended by the National Council.