Opening Ceremonies

Presented by

Opening Ceremonies Instructions

  • Parade Line-up begins at 6:00pm at Southwest corner of the ARC Pavilion along LaRue Road. Click here for venue diagram.
  • Delegations are asked to report to the Southwest corner of the ARC Pavilion and line up along LaRue Road.  (Please look for Delegation Signage)  PLEASE BE PROMPT!
  • Delegations will use the Northwest lower level entrance ramp.
  • Delegations will be lined up in alphabetical order by county with the exception of Yolo which will enter last as the host county.  Teams will not be introduced individually and are expected to march in with their county delegation. NO EXCEPTIONS!
  • Opening Ceremonies begins promptly at 7:00pm.
  • Any delegation that arrives late, after the last delegation has been announced, will be escorted directly to Delegation seating to enjoy the rest of Opening Ceremonies.  
  • Only official members of the delegations, with 2018 Summer Games credentials displayed, can participate in the Parade of Athletes.  Family and friends should find a seat in Spectator Seating on the mezzanine level so they can cheer their team on.
  • Doors at the Northeast and Southeast corners will open at 6:00pm for spectators to seat on the mezzanine level.
  • Volunteers will be directing delegations where to sit.  PLEASE SIT WHERE YOUR DELEGATION IS INSTRUCTED TO SIT.  Your cooperation will be very much appreciated.
  • Coaches, we ask your cooperation in helping your athletes sit down as quickly as possible to keep the parade flowing
  • Please keep the aisles clear.  It is important that there is easy access up and down the aisles in case of any medical emergency.  
  • At the end of Opening Ceremonies, please wait for your delegation to be signaled for exit via the Northwest lower level ramp. 
  • Athletes and Coaches will each receive a Dasani bottled water on their chair once they are inside and seated.
  • Water for spectators is available via drinking fountains and filling stations throughout the mezzanine level.
  • Food Trucks will be outside the ARC Pavilion and items will be available for purchase.
Emcee - Jon Root (San Jose Sharks in-arena host)

Athlete Emcee - Phillip Gonzales (Sacramento/Yolo County)

Athlete Pledge of Allegiance - Anthony Jordan (San Mateo County)

Athlete Oath - Theresa Hamilton (Stanislaus County) 

Athlete Torch Bearers

  1. Jeremy Fitzgerald (Sonoma County)
  2. Heather Francis (San Benito County)
  3. Matthew Estera (Fresno County)
  4. Cameron Hamilton (Contra Costa County)

Performers - The California Aggie Marching Band-uh!

Guest Speaker - Erik Estrada

2018 Volunteers of the Year

Coach of the Year: Melanie Kalalec, Santa Clara

Sports Volunteer of the Year: Mike Howland, Sacramento

Rookie of the Year: Grace Garzini, Sonoma

Schools Program Volunteer of the Year: Troy Brown, Fresno

LETR Volunteer of the Year: Todd Shulman, Napa

Youth Volunteer of the Year: Peyton Garner and Amy Young, Madera/Fresno


Click the image below to enlarge/save