Elected Offices‎ > ‎

Board of County Commissioners

The Board of County Commissioners sets policy for the governance of Socorro County, appoints the County Manager and is responsible for all fiscal management of Socorro County operations. Each Commissioner represents and is elected by district.

The Socorro County Board of Commissioners regularly meets on the second and fourth Tuesdays of each month at 9 a.m. at the Socorro County Annex Building located at 198 Neel Avenue, Socorro NM. 

All constituents and organizations are welcome to address the Board during the public comment portion at the start of each meeting. For items that require Board action or for a longer discussion, requestors must complete an Agenda Request form, found on the Manager's Forms page. Following a review of the request, only the County Manager or a Commissioner may place an item on the agenda.

For copies of board meeting packets and minutes, please visit the Socorro County Sunshine Site.

All Commissioners can be contacted at the office of the Manager at 575.835.0589 or PO Box I, Socorro NM 87801.

District 2
Phone: 575-835-0589 x1112
Cell Phone: 505.550.2722

Chair Martha Salas, msalas@co.socorro.nm.us
Voting Precincts 16, 24, 27
Currently serving first term through 2017

Commissioner Salas is currently an elementary school teacher and a homemaker. As a veteran of the New Mexico Air National Guard, she understands leadership dynamics and has served on the leadership team at the school and district level. She has also been a 4-H Leader

Salas is a graduate of Belen High School 1980 and holds a Bachelor of Science Degree in Business Management with an Accounting Emphasis and a Master of Arts Degree in Education with Reading Emphasis from the College of Santa Fe.

District 1
Phone: 575-835-0589 x1111
Cell Phone: 575.418.7064

Vice Chair Pauline Jaramillo, pjaramillo@co.socorro.nm.us
Voting Precincts 3, 8, 10, 17
Currently serving second term through 2018

Chair Pauline Jaramillo was born and raised in Socorro County. She has been married to her husband, Robert Jaramillo, for thirty seven years. She has two children, and five grandchildren.

She is a successful business woman in the Socorro Community for over thirty years. In 1984, her and her husband established "Jaramillo's Heating and A/C". 

Education and Training:
Socorro High School Graduate-1978, Attended NM Tech Community College, Attained over 100 hours of training through the NM School Board Association Leadership Program, Completed over 100 credit hours through the NM State University EDGE program, Graduate with certificate of NM County Commissioner and NM Public Official, 2013 Leadership New Mexico Local Government Leadership Program Graduate 

Awards and Honors:
Socorro County Chamber of Commerce Business of the Year 2008, NM School Board Association, Outstanding Award, Leadership Award & Exemplary Award-2009/2015, Demonstrated Commitment to Exemplary Public Service by the National Association of Latino Elected Officials 2009-2015, Socorro County Chamber of Commerce Woman of the Year 2013

Community Involvement:
Socorro County Chamber of Commerce Board of Directors and Past President, Socorro Consolidated Board Member 2010-Current, Socorro County Commissioner Vice Chair, Midway Fire Department Volunteer, Socorro Athletics Business Sponsor, Socorro County Fair Sponsor/Participant, Good Samaritan Christmas Giving Tree Fundraiser/Sponsor, Founder-"Pauline Jaramillo School Board Scholarship Fund"

Socorro County Budget Committee, Socorro County Council of Governments, Socorro County Options Prevention Education, Socorro Healthy Infants, Families, & Teens Committee, Socorro Consolidated School Budget Committee, Socorro Consolidated School Board Finance Committee, NM School Board Association Resolution and Legislature Committee, NM School Board Association Advisory Committee, NM State University's Continuing Education Curriculum Committee through the NM EDGE Program, Mayor's Drug Task Force Committee, National Association of Latino's Elected Officials, San Miguel 400th GALA Committee

District 3
Phone: 575.835.0589 x1113
Cell: 575-418-0234

Commissioner Manuel Anaya, manaya@co.socorro.nm.us
Voting Precincts 1, 2, 6, 7, 9
Currently serving first term through 2018

District 4
Phone: 575.835.0589 x1114
Cell: 575-517-7191

Commissioner Glen Duggins, glend@co.socorro.nm.us
Voting Precincts 12, 18, 16, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 25
Currently serving first term through 2020

Commission Duggins is a life-long resident of Socorro County and a farmer for 30 years. He raises alfalfa, corn, wheat and chile on a 600-acre farm in Lemitar. He has an associate’s degree in agriculture from New Mexico State University and serves on the Middle Rio Grande Conservancy District Board.

District 5
Phone: 575.835.0589 x1115
Cell: 575-418-7261

Commissioner Ray Martinez, rmartinez@co.socorro.nm.us
Voting Precinct 4, 5, 11, 13, 14
Currently serving first term through 2020