Allergy & Immunology Section Home

The Section of Allergy and Immunology in the Department of Internal Medicine at Saint Louis University School of Medicine was started by Dr. Raymond G. Slavin in 1965, and is a section of the Division of Infectious Diseases, Allergy and Immunology. 

The two-year Allergy and Immunology Fellowship program was started five years later in 1970, and has been continuously accredited for the past 47 years. The Fellowship program is offered in collaboration with the Department of Pediatrics Allergy-Immunology Division. 

Since its inception, the mission of the Section of Allergy and Immunology has been three fold:
- Meet the national demand for advances in the treatment of allergies, asthma and related disorders.
- Provide clinical excellence and compassionate care to patients.
- Teach the next generation of asthma and allergy experts. 

Our Saint Louis University Allergy and Immunology faculty physicians are recognized national experts in treatment of asthma, allergies, and immune deficiency diseases, and are actively involved in developing and updating national and international patient care guidelines for improved diagnosis and treatment of allergic disorders and asthma. Our faculty physicians treat a wide range of allergic and respiratory conditions, are all board certified by the American Board of Allergy and Immunology, and include those who have served on its Board of Directors. We specialize in treating rhinitis, sinusitis and asthma; drug and food reactions; anaphylaxis, urticaria and angioedema; eosinophilia and eosinophilic disorders; and immune deficiency.   

The Section's clinical services are provided in modern facilities on the Saint Louis University Medical Center Campus, including clinic space that opened in early 2015.  

  Mark Steven Dykewicz, M.D.
Raymond and Alberta Slavin Endowed Professor in Allergy & Immunology 
Professor of Internal Medicine 
Chief, Section of Allergy and Immunology
Division of Infectious Diseases, Allergy and Immunology 
Department of Internal Medicine 
Program Director, Allergy & Immunology Fellowship Program 
Saint Louis University School of Medicine