Graduate Program‎ > ‎

News, Awards & Honors

May 2013

  • Stan Andrisse, PhD candidate in Jon Fisher’s lab, was awarded American Physiological Society's Porter Physiology Development Fellowship for his work on GLUT-1 transport. The Fellowship is one of only three awarded nationally.
  • Haedar Abu Irqeba in Jack Kennell's lab and Max Braud in Wenyan Xiao's lab, received the Biology Department's Outstanding Teaching Awards for 2012-13. Haedar received his award for his excellent teaching in Microbiology Lab; Max received his for his terrific work teaching the labs for Introductory Biology.

April 2013

  • Biology graduate students had a great time presenting posters and talks at SLU's 19th annual Graduate Research Symposium. Steven Callen from Allison Miller's lab received first place in the Biology posters section, while Ameair Abu Irqeba from Judy Ogilvie's lab was awarded second place among science talks. Great job, everyone!

March 2013

  • Sophia Niu, PhD candidate in Jason Knouft’s lab, was awarded a Dissertation Improvement Grant from the National Science Foundation for her research project: “Hydrological characteristics, trophic interactions, and fish assemblage structure in temperate stream systems.”

February 2013

July 2012
  • Mauricio Diazgranados was awarded the 2012 George R. Cooley Award at the Botany 2012 meetings in Columbus, OH.  This prestigious honor is awarded by the American Society of Plant Taxonomists for the best contributed paper in plant systematics at the annual botany meetings and is restricted to graduate students or those within 5 years of receiving their PhD.  Congratulations, Mauricio
  • Mauricio Diazgranados and Tony Wilmes were selected to receive the Biology Department's 2012 Outstanding Graduate Research (Diazgranados) and Outstanding Graduate Teaching (Wilmes) Awards.  These annual awards go to graduating students who have distinguished themselves by the excellent quality of their contributions to research and teaching in the department.  Congratulations, Mauricio and Tony !
  • Another good showing for the Biology Department at the 18th Annual GSA Graduate Research Symposium! 
  • Awards went to Mauricio Diazgranados (1st place) and Aroloye Numbere (2nd place) for their paper presentations.
  • The Department would like to recognize the strong representation by our students at the symposium.  In addition to Mauricio and Numbere, Stan Andrisse gave a paper presentation and posters were presented by ten students: Haedar Abuirqeba, Ethan Bogosian, Steven Callen, Nicolette Dutken, Serena Gregory, Victoria Le, Yang Li, Xiaolong Lu, Samantha Nie and Sophia Niu.  Your hard work reflects well on the Department and on our ever-improving graduate program.  Thank you all!

April 2012
  • Aroloye Numbere was one of five university-wide recipients of a Brennan Summer Fellowship Award from the Graduate Student Association.  He was awarded $2000 in the category of Thesis and Dissertation Fellowships.  Congratulations, Numbere!  

March 2012
  • Steven Callen was awarded the Mickey Scudder Scholarship in Field Biology from the Webster Groves Nature Study Society.  This is one of two awards made annually by WGNSS to a graduate student at a local university.  Steven is the first SLU graduate student since 2006 to win either of these awards.

October 2011
  • Sophia Niu and undergraduate Paul Le received a grant ($498) from the College of Arts & Sciences Undergraduate/Graduate Research Collaboration Funds in support of their project on "Food-web components and dietary composition of Missouri streams fishes".  

July 2011

  • Steven Callen and Mauricio Diazgranados made presentations about their research at the Botany 2011 meetings, held conveniently this year at the Chase Park Plaza Hotel, just down Lindell Boulevard.  Mauricio's talk was on his "Interactive digital key for the frailejones (Espeletiinae Cuatrec., Asteraceae) of the South American páramos".   Steven presented a poster entitled "Assessing the environmental niches of native and introduced Pueraria montana (kudzu)", for which he won the Best Poster Award from the Ecological Section of the Botanical Society of America.  Well done, Steven!

April 2011

  • Mauricio Diazgranados received a $2000 travel award from the Botanical Society of America to attend the XVIII International Botanical Congress in Melbourne, Australia in July.  Mauricio will be presenting a poster on part of his dissertation research.
  • Becky Dowil and Dustin Siegel were selected to receive the Biology Department's 2011 Outstanding Graduate Research Awards.  These annual awards go to graduating students who have distinguished themselves by the quality of their research.  Congratulations, Becky and Dustin!
  • Biology Department wins big at the 17th Annual GSA Graduate Research Symposium! 
  • Biology swept the awards for oral presentations with Mauricio Diazgranados (1st place), Becky Dowil (2nd place) and Ginger Allington (3rd place) recognized in the Biology & Physical Sciences category.
  • Krista Boysen and Larry Spears shared first place honors for their poster presentations.
Fifteen students presented their research this year, and with five awards, this is our best showing yet!  The Department is proud of the great representation by our students.
  • Mauricio Diazgranados was awarded a $2000 Dissertation Award from the Graduate Student Association.
  • Steven Callen received an Honorable Mention for his proposal to the National Science Foundation's Graduate Research Fellowship Program.
March 2011
  • Ginger Allington was awarded a University Dissertation Fellowship for the 2011-2012 academic year.  This fellowship provides a full stipend, tuition scholarship and medical insurance and will enable Ginger to devote herself full-time to finishing her dissertation.  Congratulations, Ginger!
  • Justin Rheubert was awarded a University Presidential Fellowship as an incoming graduate student for the 2011-2012 academic year.  This is a prestigious 4-year fellowship that includes stipend, tuition scholarship and insurance.  Justin will be joining us in July 2011 to pursue research with Dr. Bob Aldridge.  Welcome aboard, Justin!
February 2011
January 2011
  • Ameair Abuirqeba received a research grant from Sigma Xi for his proposal entitled "The Role of Rabac1 in Photoreceptor Development".
December 2010
  • Alejandra Domic is an author on a just-published field guide to the flora of Sajama National Park in Bolivia, published by the Fundacion Puma & Conservation International, La Paz.  Sajama has been nominated for designation as a UNESCO World Heritage site.
November 2010
  • Kerstin Edberg took first place for her poster "Genetic isolation as a result of dam construction: a look at the effects on two species of darters" at the Southeastern Fishes Council Meeting.
June 2010
  • Mauricio Diazgranados was awarded a 2-year Doctoral Dissertation Improvement Grant from the National Science Foundation.  He is  one of only six SLU biology students since 2000 to win one of these prestigious awards.  The grant provides $15,000 for research and field work expected to improve the quality of a student's dissertation.
April 2010
  • Alejandra Domic received a Research Grant  from the International Foundation for Science (IFS).
May 2009
  • Alejandra Domic was awarded a Brennan Summer Fellowship from the Graduate Student Association.