National Honor Society officers for the 2018-2019 school year:

President - Tyler Newman

Vice-President - Renee Petree

Secretary - Adriana Solis

Historian - Alex Caron

Treasurer - Kelsey Darby

Officer- Courtney Spier

The purpose of the National Honor Society is to create enthusiasm for scholarship, stimulate a desire to render service, to promote leadership, and to develop character in the students of Spring Hill High School. The Alpha Centauri Chapter of NHS will be consistent with the Constitution and the policies established by the National Council.

To be considered for membership, a student must be a full-time sophomore or junior student and must have maintained a cumulative GPA of 90 in all academic courses (English, Science, Math and Social Studies), AP courses, and honors since entering high school. In the spring semester, students who meet the academic requirements will be invited to submit an application detailing how they exhibit the qualities of service, leadership, and character. Equal consideration is given to scholarship, service, leadership and character by the faculty council (appointed by the principal) in making the final decision about who will be offered membership. *Note: Transfer membership is granted to any student when a letter of good standing is received from the NHS adviser or principal of the former school.

Expectations for maintaining membership:

  • Annual dues are $10.
  • Each member must consistently maintain the standards of scholarship (90 GPA), leadership, and character by which he/she was selected.
  • Documentation of 15 service hours per year is required.
  • Members may be subject to dismissal if they miss three scheduled meetings.
  • Various opportunities for school leadership, fundraising and service take place throughout the school year.

For more information contact: DANIELLE TYLER dtyler@shisd.net or AMY TOUCHSTONE atouchstone@shisd.net

NHS logo