About Me



 There's my wonderful husband and our daughter in Spain



  • Background: Can you believe that I never thought of teaching when I was younger? One of my first jobs out of college was working as a copy editor in New York City. It was only after our second child was born that I considered teaching. First, I became a Montessori teacher. It was in that classroom that I realized, "This is exactly where I want to be!" 

  • Education:  So like I said, teaching was not a consideration until later in life. My undergraduate degree was in French Literature from Vassar College. Then I finished my certification from the American Montessori Society (AMS) and pursued my M.S. in Education from Bank Street College of Education in NYC. After my family and I moved to the Capital Area, I went for a second Master's Degree at University at Albany, this time in Literacy and Special Education.
 
  • Family:  In 2017, my husband and I celebrate our 30th anniversary. We have two children.  Our son worked as a Peace Corps Volunteer Leader in Agroforestry in West Africa and is now completing graduate studies in Environmental Management in Colorado. Our daughter just graduated college and is pursuing Nursing.

  • Interests: I love reading (of course) and anything physical, like yoga, spinning, jogging, weight lifting, kickboxing, skiing and hiking. I also love listening to Dr. Radio on SiriusXM and PRX's This American Life. I think of myself as a very lucky person... after all, I get to teach reading for a living!




Our son in The Gambia, West Africa - where we went 
to visit him summer 2015