Shakespeare.Shop.Plays and Poems Timeline

 Every Shakespeare Play and Poem placed in Chronological Order.

  Use our Chronology of the Plays and Poems Fact Sheet for the approximate dating of Shakespeare's works.

  Any attempt to date all the works of Shakespeare is speculative and brings widespread debate and discussion, so we have also included other generally acknowledged datings of the plays and poems.

Timeline of Shakespeare's Plays and Poems


              1590                          Titus Andronicus (sometimes dated as 1591-3) 

              1591                           Henry VI Part 2                                                                        

                                                    A Lover's Complaint

                                                     Henry VI Part 3 (sometimes dated as 1592)                                         

               1592                           Venus and Adonis (sometimes dated as 1593)

                                                     Henry VI Part 1 (sometimes dated as 1589-90)

               1593                            Richard III (sometimes dated as 1592)                                                 

                                                     The Rape of Lucrece (sometimes dated as 1594)

               1594                           The Sonnets (osometimes dated from 1591-4)

                                                     The Comedy of Errors (sometimes dated as 1589-1590)

                                                     The Taming of the Shrew (sometimes dated as 1591-1593)

                                                     The Two Gentlemen of Verona (sometimes dated as 1589-1593)

              1595                            Love's Labour's Lost (sometimes dated as 1593-1594)

                                                     Richard II

               1596                           King John (sometimes dated as 1590-1595)

                                                     Romeo and Juliet (sometimes dated as 1594-1595)

                                                     A Midsummer Night's Dream (sometimes dated as 1594-1595)

               1597                           The Merchant of Venice (sometimes dated as 1596)

                                                    The Merry Wives of Windsor

                                                    Henry IV Part 1 (sometimes dated as 1596)

               1598                          Henry IV Part 2 (sometimes dated as 1597)

               1599                          Much Ado About Nothing (sometimes dated as 1598)                          

                                                    The Passionate Pilgrim

                                                    As You Like It (osometimes dated as 1598)

                                                    Julius Caesar

                                                    Henry V

                                                    Hamlet (sometimes dated as 1600-1601)                                              

               1601                          The Phoenix and the Turtle

               1602                         Twelfth Night (sometimes dated as 1600-1601)

               1603                        All's Well That Ends Well (somtimes dated as 1601-1602)

               1604                        Othello (sometimes dated as 1602-1603)

                                                  Measure for Measure (sometimes dated as 1603)

               1605                        King Lear

               1606                        Macbeth

               1608                       Pericles (sometimes dated as 1607)


                                                 Timon of Athens (sometimes dated as 1604-1606)

                                                 Troilus and Cressida (sometimes dated as 1600-1602)

                                                 Antony and Cleopatra (sometimes dated as 1606-1607)

               1610                       Cymbeline (sometimes dated as 1609)

               1611                        The Winter's Tale (sometimes dated as 1609-1610)

                                                The Tempest (sometimes dated as 1610)

              1613                        Henry VIII                                                                                

              1614                        The Two Noble Kinsmen (sometimes dated as 1611)