Home‎ > ‎

History of Rho Zeta

This honor society was initially established in 1982 by a group of faculty and graduates at SLU School of Nursing. It was organized to encourage and recognize superior scholarship and leadership in nursing.

It was necessary to move to inactive status in 1987 until such a time as significant interest warranted reactivation of the Society. During Spring, 1999 a committee was established within the School of Nursing to explore re-establishment of the Honor Society as a prelude to seeking a charter for membership into the Sigma Theta Tau International Honor Society of Nursing.

This organization began in 1922 at Indiana University, Indianapolis, Indiana.  It is a member of the Association of College Honor Societies and is professional and scholarly, rather than social in its purposes.

On September 24, 1999, the SLU Honor Society of Nursing inducted 95 members.  Members were inducted under the following categories: Founding, Community, Undergraduate, Graduate and Alumni.

After many months of dedicated planning and organizing, Southeastern Louisiana University Honor Society of Nursing officially became the Rho Zeta Chapter of Sigma Theta Tau International Honor Society of Nursing. The chartering ceremony took place on Friday March 8th at the SLU Union Theater. Dr. Peggy Ellis, representative from Sigma Theta Tau International was the inducting officer for the ceremony. 139 members were installed at the Chartering Ceremony, including new members, transfer and dual members. Dr. Mary Coyne, President of Gamma Lambda, our sister chapter was also present at the ceremony. Dr. Randy Moffett, SLU President, and Dr. John Crain, SLU Provost also attended. Dr. Donnie Booth, Dean of the College of Nursing and Health Sciences assisted with the induction of new members. Jennifer Robinson served as President of the new Rho Zeta Chapter.