MUIRLANDS SPECIAL EDUCATION DEPARTMENT

Staff

Case Managers

Name Position  Email  Phone  Students
 Jennifer Nash      SPED Admin  jnash@sandi.net      858-459-4211 x 154  
 Andrea Carlson   Education Specialist  acarlson1@sandi.net  858-459-4211 x 136
 6th grade
 Joey Bugbee  Education Specialist/  Department Chair  jbugbee@sandi.net  858-459-4211 x 151
 7th grade
 Alex Cruz  Education Specialist      acruz@sandi.net      858-459-4211 x 105  6th grade
 Tanya Nielsen  Education Specialist  tnielsen@sandi.net  858-459-4211 x 135
 8th grade
 Laura Pettit  Education Specialist
 lpettit@sandi.net  858-459-4211 x 135
 8th grade
 Sue Sporl  Mod-Sev Education Specialist
 ssporl@sandi.net  858-459-4211 x 140
 6th-8th
 Tracy Thompson  Resource Teacher  tthompson@sandi.net  858-459-4211 x 153
 7th/8th grade

Related Service Providers

Name Position  Email    Phone
 Lauren Emison, MS, BCBA  School Psychologist  lemison@sandi.net  858-459-4211 x 127
 Brigite Prud'homme  Occupational Therapist  bprudhomme@sandi.net  858-459-4211 x 118
 Autumn Miller Speech and Language Pathologist  amiller1@sandi.net  858-459-4211 x 147
 Elana Rezmovitch  Mental Health Therapist  erezmovitch@sandi.net
 Whitney Handy      Adaptive Physical Education (APE)  whandy@sandi.net  

Special Ed Department


The San Diego Unified School District is dedicated to identifying, locating and assessing all students within the district from birth to 21 years of age who may have disabilities, and providing appropriate support and/or related services to those students determined by an educational evaluation.

The District is committed to providing eligible students with disabilities a free and appropriate public education consistent with federal and state laws, including those students enrolled in private schools, wards of the state, highly mobile students with exceptional needs, etc. For information please refer to the district website for Parentally Placed Private School Services.

These services are provided based on the individual needs of the student. After a team , comprised of educational professionals and the parent(s) determine a students’ unique needs and consider a variety of factors an Individual Education Program (IEP) is created. An IEP is a legal document that describes how the San Diego Unified School District provides services to a student with exceptional needs. Special Ed support and services are provided under the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA)