Middle School Religion

Miss Timmerman

We have new textbooks this year!

We are using the Spirit of Truth series from the Sophia Institute.

Grade 6: Sacred Scripture

Students will learn....

- How to use the Bible and understand Magisterial authority.

- How and why we should pray with Scripture.

- How the Bible is different from other books.

- The four senses of Scripture.

Grade 7: Living as a Disciple of Christ

Students will learn...

-An in-depth examination of the four Gospels.

- Personal growth, with an emphasis on the origin, dignity, and destiny of the human person.

- The seven Sacraments, with an exploration of each Sacrament.

- Prayer, with an emphasis on its elements, qualities, and challenges, ways of praying, and Mary and the saints as models of prayer.

Grade 8: The Communion of the Faithful

Students will learn...

- Morality, with an emphasis on conscience formation through God’s gift of an objective moral standard and prayer.

- Church History, with an emphasis on what we can learn from history about our identity as Catholics, and how the saints have shaped the liturgy, hierarchy, and doctrine of the Church.

- About the natural rights of all persons and the purpose of government.

- God's Plan for Marriage and the Family, with an emphasis on our identity as male and female, purposes and abuses of sexuality, and resisting temptation in order to avoid sin and grow in virtue.