INTERNATIONAL AND EXCHANGE STUDENT SERVICES (IESS)

Home
Prospective International Undergraduate Students
Prospective International Graduate Students
Prospective Exchange Students
Current International Students
About Pittsburgh
Degrees and Majors
Accreditations
Tuition
Student Health Services
Residence Life
Student/Visitor Visa Information
How to Apply for Your F-1 Visa
How to Apply for Your J-1 Visa
Pre-Departure - You Have Your I-20 or DS-2019
Upon Your Arrival at Robert Morris University
Obtaining a Driver's License
Social Security Number Requirements
Curricular Practical Training (CPT)
Optional Practical Training (OPT)
In Case of Emergency
Adjusting to Life in the United States
What's Happening in Pittsburgh?

FACULTY/STAFF > DEPARTMENTS & OFFICES > CENTER FOR GLOBAL ENGAGEMENT > INTERNATIONAL AND EXCHANGE STUDENT SERVICES (IESS) > WHAT'S HAPPENING IN PITTSBURGH?
What's Happening in Pittsburgh?


Pittsburgh is filled with fun and often inexpensive activities. Part of your experience of studying in the U.S. should include getting out and about and exploring your new city!


Global Pittsburgh

GlobalPittsburgh is an organization dedicated to providing international students with the opportunity to participate in events going on in and around Pittsburgh.   A Robert Morris University partner, GlobalPittsburgh offers year-round activities, networking events, free tickets, and hosting opportunities!

GlobalPittsburgh also has made connections with the various international communities located in Pittsburgh. Discover the variety of countries represented in Pittsburgh!

Cultural Events

Pittsburgh has a thriving cultural district with world class museums, art galleries, music symphony and more.

Cultural District - http://www.culturaldistrict.org/
Pittsburgh Symphony - http://www.pittsburghsymphony.org
Pittsburgh Ballet - http://www.pbt.org/
Pittsburgh CLO - http://www.pittsburghclo.org/
Broadway in Pittsburgh - http://www.pgharts.org/
Pittsburgh Carnegie Museums - http://www.carnegiemuseums.org/
Pittsburgh Zoo and Aquarium - http://www.pittsburghzoo.com/
Art Galleries - http://www.pgharts.org/education/gallerycrawl.aspx


Sporting Events

If you are a sports fan there are many options for you including both professional sports teams and college teams. Or if you choose to be more active and participate in sports, we have that too!

Pittsburgh Steelers (American Football) - http://www.steelers.com/
Pittsburgh Penguins (Ice Hockey) - http://penguins.nhl.com/
Pittsburgh Pirates (Baseball) - http://pittsburgh.pirates.mlb.com/
Robert Morris University Colonials - http://www.rmucolonials.com/
Robert Morris University Intramurals - http://www.rmu.edu/web/cms/student-life/campus-recreation/im-sports/Pages/default.aspx

Outdoor Activities

One of Pittsburgh's main advantages is all of the outdoor and nature activities that it has to offer. It's four seasons, hilly terrain and proximity to mountains and rivers offer endless outdoor activities.

Kayak Pittsburgh - http://www.kayakpittsburgh.org/
Venture Outdoors - http://www.ventureoutdoors.org/

Pittsburgh Parks and Recreation:
Pittsburgh Bike Trails - http://bike-pgh.org/campaigns/commuter-bike-maps/
Seven Springs Resort - http://www.7springs.com/
Hidden Valley Resort - http://www.hiddenvalleyresort.com/
White Water Rafting - http://www.wwaraft.com/
Pittsburgh Outdoors - http://pittsburgh.about.com/od/outdoor_recreation/Outdoor_Sports_Recreation.htm

In addition to these resources there are thousands of other activities to do in Pittsburgh if you just look around you. You can visit historic Kennywood Park (http://www.kennywood.com/ ) or Idlewild Park (http://www.idlewild.com/ ). In the summer, cool off at Sandcastle (http://www.sandcastlewaterpark.com/ ). Or simply take a walking tour of a Pittsburgh neighborhood (http://www.clpgh.org/research/pittsburgh/walking.html).

The opportunities for fun in Pittsburgh are never ending!