Biology‎ > ‎

Unit 1-Scientific Method


Unit One Tentative Timeline-Below the timeline provides access             to electronic copies of labs and materials handout and presented in class.

DATE

ACTIVITY/ASSIGNMENT

Tuesday, September 2

 

What is life discussion-yeast demo

Icebreaker activity

Wednesday, September 3

 

 

Syllabus

Course outline

Hand out textbooks

Assignment:  Read and take notes on 1-1 in textbook (Due Friday)

Thursday, September 4

 

Continue discussing class expectations

Lab safety and emergency situations

What is Biology?

Assignment:  Sign  safety contracts and return on Friday

Friday, September 5

**Homework check on 1-1 Reading and notes

Wrap up lab safety as needed

Intro to Lab Design - Establishing prior knowledge (CHROMEBOOKS RESERVED)

Discuss group roles and responsibilities

Assignment:  Read and take notes on 1-2 & 1-3 in textbook (Due Monday)

                         Collect pill bugs and bring in for lab extra credit

 

Monday, September 8

 

**Homework check on 1-2 & 1-3 Reading and notes

Introduce experimental design

 

Tuesday, September 9

 

 

Discuss practice problem from homework

Experimental design practice – Whiteboarding?

Assignment:  Complete experimental design practice problem for Wednesday

Wednesday, September 10

 

 

**Homework check – Experimental design

Introduce Pill bug lab

Assignment:  Read and complete pre-lab and group planning sheet for Thursday

Thursday, September 11

Pillbug lab:  -Group member responsibilities

                     -Pill bug trial #1

                     -Second variable

 

Friday, September 12

 

 

Pill bug lab:  - complete trial #2

 Introduction to graphing – Bubble gum lab

Assignment:  graph lab data for pill bug lab (due Monday)

Monday, September 15

 

 

Compare and discuss student graphs

Introduce null vs. alternative hypothesis and Chi-square values

Tuesday, September 16

 

 

Finish Chi-square examples

Calculate results from student pill bug data

 

Wednesday, September 17

 

 

Complete Pill bug Post-lab data

Discuss conclusion

Review for quiz

Thursday, September 18

 

Quiz on Chapter 1

Work on pill bug labs with groups – individual portions due Monday (Chromebooks reserved)

Friday, September 19

Fall Fest

 


Applied Biology Pictures


ĉ
Billi Jo Vertz,
Sep 3, 2014, 7:20 AM
ĉ
Billi Jo Vertz,
Sep 11, 2013, 6:55 AM
ĉ
Billi Jo Vertz,
Sep 18, 2013, 7:11 AM
Ċ
Billi Jo Vertz,
Sep 8, 2013, 8:33 AM
ĉ
Billi Jo Vertz,
Sep 22, 2014, 10:04 AM
ĉ
Billi Jo Vertz,
Sep 18, 2013, 7:11 AM
Ċ
Billi Jo Vertz,
Sep 8, 2013, 8:33 AM
ĉ
Billi Jo Vertz,
Sep 18, 2013, 7:11 AM
Ċ
Billi Jo Vertz,
Sep 20, 2013, 8:07 AM
Ċ
Billi Jo Vertz,
Sep 8, 2013, 8:33 AM