Welcome to the Research Committee Web Site

The purpose of the committee is to enhance and promote the development and dissemination of research among drinking water professionals in the Pacific Northwest.  This effort includes promoting traditional research avenues, including universities and large research organizations, such the Water Research Foundation (WRF).  In addition, the committee supports and encourages vital research conducted by water professionals working in utility settings.  There are more than a dozen active Research Committees at the section level throughout the United States.  Our committee also engages with the national AWWA Joint Section Research Committee to learn and leverage what is going on in other sections. We also work closely with the Water Research Foundation.

Our goal is to have a direct impact on PNWS-AWWA members by providing valuable training to its members, and to engage with national AWWA committees, and we have a lot of fun while doing it!

The Research Committee has new officers elected at the May 2014 meeting in Eugene - Lynn Williams is serving as the Chair and Lee Odell as the Secretary.  In 2015, Alex Mofidi joined the committee as a Vice-Chair. Sophia Hobet continues her service as a Vice-Chair.  Our sincere thanks to out-going chair Sam Perry for his many years of service and work with the Committee and to Jennifer Henke who moved to Texas to take on a new adventure.


 Chair Vice Chair Vice Chair Secretary
 Lynn Williams Alex Mofidi Sophia Hobet Lee Odell
 Brown & Caldwell AECOM City of Hillsboro CH2M HILL




Here is a memory of past Chairs that have been awesome leaders!
  • Chris McMeen, Tacoma Water (2008-2010)

  • David Peters, Portland Water Bureau (2010-2012)

  • Sam Perry, Washington Department of Health (2012-2014)

For contact information for these and Research Committee members, please visit the 'Membership' page in the left sidebar column.