Home

Request for Assistance

*Requests will be sent to Tiffanie Zaugg and she will respond to your request. Please make sure that parents have signed the consent form, before filling out this request. If they have not, please print and send via mail or call Tiffanie.


Device Request Form

*Requests will be sent out within a week or so of the request and are dependent on Tiffanie's schedule. Please plan accordingly.

AT Library Spreadsheet

What is Assistive Technology?

•Assistive technology enables students with disabilities to participate more fully in all aspects of life (home, school, and community) and helps them access their right to a "free, appropriate, public education" in the "least restrictive environment.“

•An assistive technology device is defined as:

Any item, piece of equipment or product system, whether acquired commercially off the shelf, modified, or customized, that is used to increase, maintain, or improve the functional capabilities of a child with a disability.

{Source: 34 CFR 300.5}

•An assistive technology service is defined as:

Any service that directly assists an individual with a disability in the selection, acquisition, or use of an assistive technology device. Specifically this service includes:

{Source: 34 CFR 300.6}

AT Consideration in the IEP

As part of IDEA (reauthorized 2004) the IEP process must include the consideration of assistive technology for all students eligible for special education services. Iowa’s state IEP form requires a Yes/No response from the IEP team indicating whether or not assistive technology services or devices are required.

Prairie Lakes Assistive Technology Team

Tiffanie Zaugg (Special Education Consultant): Assistive Technology Coordinator- Algona Office- tzaugg@plaea.org

Tim Youngdahl (Speech and Language Pathologist): Spencer Office- tyoungdahl@plaea.org

Kim Peterson (Special Education Consultant): Fort Dodge Office- kpeterson@plaea.org

Yvette Bardole(Speech and Language Pathologist): Jefferson Office- ybardole@plaea.org

Cari Hepperle (Occupational Therapist): Fort Dodge Office- chepperle@plaea.org

Nicole Peter(Occupational Therapist): Spencer Office- npeter@plaea.org

Denise (School Psychologist): Fort Dodge Office- dschwery@plaea.org

Maureen Salinas (Audiologist): Fort Dodge Office- msalinas@plaea.org


**PLAEA does not endorse any of the devices or applications listed on this site. It is the sole responsibility of the users of this site to check out the devices and applications listed.

AEA 8 & 13 News
image of word cloud around website