Home


*Requests will be send to Tiffanie Zaugg and she will respond to your request.

*Requests will be sent out within a week or so of the request and are dependent on Tiffanie's schedule.  Please plan accordingly. 


What is Assistive Technology? 

•Assistive technology enables students with disabilities to participate more fully in all aspects of life (home, school, and community) and helps them access their right to a "free, appropriate, public education" in the "least restrictive environment.“ 

•An assistive technology device is defined as: 

Any item, piece of equipment or product system, whether acquired commercially off the shelf, modified, or customized, that is used to increase, maintain, or improve the functional capabilities of a child with a disability. 

{Source: 34 CFR 300.5} 
•An assistive technology service is defined as: 

Any service that directly assists an individual with a disability in the selection, acquisition, or use of an assistive technology device. Specifically this service includes: 
{Source: 34 CFR 300.6} 

IEP Team Steps for AT Consideration 

As part of IDEA (reauthorized 2004) the IEP process must include the consideration of assistive technology for all students eligible for special education services. Iowa’s state IEP form requires a Yes/No response from the IEP team indicating whether or not assistive technology services or devices are required. 

1. Frame the Question: Identify Area of Concern & Conduct IEP Team Assessment
Pinpoint barriers the child is encountering.
What do we need to know about the student’s use of AT?
Review available information and collect new information.
Brainstorm and identify possible AT tools or instructional strategies to address area of need.
Tool for the Team: S.E.T.T.

If the Team Needs More Support: Request for Assistance

2. Trial of Possible AT Tool:
Identify specific AT tool to introduce for a trial period.
Create a detailed plan for the AT trial period. 
Acquire needed AT tools and/or training necessary to conduct trial
Tool for the Team: WATI Assistive Technology Trial Use Guide
If the Team Needs More Support: Request for Assistance 

3. Implementation:
Plan for AT interventions and identify training that is needed.
Tool for the Team: Implementation Tools for the Team
If the Team Needs More Support: Request for Assistance 

4. Periodic Review:
Evaluate the effectiveness of the plan.
Re-SETT as needed.
Tool for the Team: Data Collection Chart from Data Manual
If the Team Needs More Information: AT Progress Report
Re-SETT for AT Implementation



Prairie Lakes Assistive Technology Team


Tiffanie Zaugg:        Assistive Technology Coordinator tzaugg@plaea.org
Tim Youngdahl:    Assistive Technology Team Member-Spencer Office tyoungdahl@plaea.org
Kris Taphorn:       Assistive Technology Team Member-Storm Lake Office ktaphorn@plaea.org
Yvette Bardole:     Assistive Technology Team Member-Jefferson ybardole@plaea.org
Jodi Ward:            Assistive Technology Team Member-Pocahontas Office jward@plaea.org
Cari Hepperle:      Assistive Technology Team Member- chepperle@plaea.org
Leslie Franzmeier: (Autism Specialist) Assistive Technology Team Member- Lfranzmeier@plaea.org

 



**PLAEA does not endorse any of the devices or applications listed on this site. It is the sole responsibility of the users of this site to check out the devices and applications listed.


 


Comments