What is Advanced Placement (AP)?

According to the College Board (2014):

With AP®, students can get a feel for the rigors of college level studies while they still have the support of a high school environment. When students take AP courses, they demonstrate to college admission officers that they have sought out an educational experience that will prepare them for success in college and beyond.

Resourceful and dedicated AP teachers work with their students to develop and apply the skills, abilities, and content knowledge they will need later in college. Each of AP’s 36 courses is modeled upon a comparable college course. College and university faculty play a vital role in ensuring that AP courses align with college-level standards.

Each AP course concludes with a college-level exam developed and scored by college and university faculty members as well as experienced AP teachers. AP Exams are an essential part of the AP experience, enabling students to apply the new critical thinking skills they have learned in a comprehensive exam. Most two- and four-year colleges and universities worldwide recognize AP in the admission process and accept successful exam scores for credit, advanced placement, or both.

Performing well on an AP Exam means more than just the successful completion of a course. Research consistently shows that students who score a 3 or higher typically earn higher GPAs in college and have higher graduation rates. 


"If there is no struggle, there is no progress." -- Frederick Douglass




AP Courses and Faculty at FDHS:


AP Coordinator

Dr. Yemi Lawanson

Olayemi.Lawanson@pgcps.org


Biology

Ms. Judith Nelson

Judith.Nelson@pgcps.org

 

Calculus AB

Mrs. Tanya Taylor

Tanyab@pgcps.org

 

English Language & Composition

Dr. Lisa Taylor

Phelici.Kebreau@pgcps.org

 

English Literature & Composition

Mrs. Cindy Martin

Cindy.Martin@pgcps.org

 

Psychology

Mr. William Hay

William.Hay@pgcps.org

 

Studio Art

Mrs. Gloria Smith

Gloria.Smith@pgcps.org

 

U.S. Government & Politics

Ms. Tessa Guarracino

Tessa.Guarracino@pgcps.org

 

World History

Mr. Matthew Brannagan

Matthew.Brannagan@pgcps.org






Students can access AP course descriptions and information at the College Board AP website.