2019-2020 Course Guide

Pella_P2.pngPELLA COMMUNITY HIGH SCHOOL

212 East University Street   |   Pella, IA 50219   |   P: (641)628-3870   |   www.pellaschools.org


ADMINISTRATION
Mr. Greg Ebeling
Mrs. Whitney Pfadenhauer
Mr. Lowell Ernst
Mrs. Shayla Gift
Mr. Adam Beckel
Mr. Derek Schulte
Mrs. Cheryl Carey
Mrs. Kara Schulte

STUDENT SERVICES
Mrs. Teresa Thompson
Mrs. Jessica Manning
Mrs. Allissa Grandia

ATHLETIC DEPARTMENT
Mr. Dale Otte
Mrs. Abby Cunningham

BOARD OF EDUCATION
Mrs. Joan Corbin
Mr. Tim Tripp
Mr. Gary Coppock
Mr. Gregg Gustafson



Superintendent
Administrative Staff
Director of Instruction
Administrative Staff
Principal
Assistant Principal
Administrative Staff
Administrative Staff


School Counselor
School Counselor
Registrar


Athletic Director
Administrative Staff


President
Vice President
Director
Director


greg.ebeling@pellaschools.org
whitney.pfadenhauer@pellaschools.org
lowell.ernst@pellaschools.org
shayla.gift@pellaschools.org
adam.beckel@pellaschools.org
derek.schulte@pellaschools.org
cheryl.carey@pellaschools.org
kara.schulte@pellaschools.org


teresa.thompson@pellaschools.org
jessica.manning@pellaschools.org
allissa.grandia@pellaschools.org


dale.otte@pellaschools.org
abby.cunningham@pellaschools.org




NOTE FROM ADMINISTRATION

Pella Community High School recognizes the need for students to be responsible citizens. Therefore, students are required to take courses designed to help them become informed, productive, and skilled in a wide range of academic areas.

Whether they plan to attend a vocational school or two-year or four-year college or to get a job immediately out of high school, we encourage students to take courses that will challenge and prepare them for the future. Each student will create a high school four-year plan in 8th grade. We hope they will consistently update their four-year plan as they progress through their high school career preparing themselves for the next step in their life.

This Pella Community High School course registration guide is designed to help students make course selections for the upcoming school year. It is recommended that students use the information contained in this guide as a source in choosing courses. Counselors, teachers, and parents can also provide valuable information needed to make appropriate selections.

Every attempt has been made to provide accurate and descriptive information. Course descriptions are prepared within each department by teachers. The members of these departments are in the best position to accurately describe the course content. The school counselors can give a general overview of each course.

We hope students/parents will find this guide to be both informative and useful. Making course selections during high school is a very important task, one that will affect students the rest of their lives. Therefore, we urge students to take the time to choose courses wisely.

UPDATED 12/2016


EQUAL EDUCATIONAL OPPORTUNITY POLICY STATEMENT & SECTION 504


The Pella Community School offers career and technical programs in the following areas of study:

Agricultural Education

Business & Office Education,

Family & Consumer Sciences

Industrial Education


It is the policy of the Pella Community School District not to discriminate on the basis of race, color, national origin, sex, disability, religion, creed, age (for employment), marital status (for programs), sexual orientation, gender identity and socioeconomic status (for programs) in its educational programs and its employment practices. There is a grievance procedure for processing complaints of discrimination. If you have questions or a grievance related to this policy, please contact Rich Schulte, 1111 North Main Street Pella, IA 50219, (641) 628-3970, or rich.schulte@pella.k12.ia.us.


The board requires all persons, agencies, vendors, contractors and other persons and organizations doing business with or performing services for the school district to subscribe to all applicable federal and state laws, executive orders, rules and regulations pertaining to contract compliance and equal opportunity.