Calendine Museum (Hamburg Road; Luray, VA)
Built in 1840 for Townsend Young who ran a general store and stagecoach stop in the adjacent building. Calendine is best known as the residence of the renowned Barbee family. William Randolph Barbee (1818-1868) was famed as a classic sculptor whose life-sized statues were highly praised by the critics. He was commissioned to complete the frieze on the west wing of the U.S. Capitol, but, the outbreak of the Civil War interrupted his work which he was never able to resume.
William Randolph's son, Herbert Barbee, (1848-1936) was born in Page County. Like his father, he studied art in Italy, producing various bas-reliefs, statues, and busts. After his return to America he had studios in New York, Baltimore, St. Louis, Cincinnati, Washington City, and Luray where he used the adjacent store at Calendine. His legacy to Page County is the Confederate Monument on Luray's East Main Street. It was unveiled with great celebration on July 21, 1898.
Hamburg Country Store (Hamburg Road; Luray, VA)
Step back in time by visiting this refurbished country store. Experience "going to the store" of the 1940's rural Page County. The original store was established in the early 1900's and as the population of the community grew, so did the store.
The Mauck Meeting House (Hamburg Road; Luray, VA)
Built for religious purposes by the "Neighbors," mainly Mennonites from Switzerland and southern Germany. The outside of the pine log walls were covered in 1851 with white weatherboards and the structure was roofed with chestnut shingles. A central heating chimney and tin roof were installed later. Heat was provided by a large six-plate stove made at the local iron furnace and inscribed "D. Pennebacker - 1799." Early Mennonite ministers were John Roads; Martin, David and Michael Kauffman; Jacob Strickler and Abraham Heiston. Early Baptist ministers were James Ireland and John Koontz. Mauck Meeting House was used by the Baptists from 1790 until 1899.
Massanutten School (Opposite Inn Lawn Park; Luray, VA)
This school was in use from 1875-1937. The restored one-room school was moved from its original site in 1972, restored and furnished through citizens donations. Inside are sixteen original double desks; a one hundred year old cast iron stove; a handmade teacher's desk and chair; a flag pole used during the Civil War, an 1880 school house bell; and numerous photos and displays. Open by appointment only. (540-743-4218). The School was a donation from Page County residents, Tommy and Barbara Jennings.