Home



ENGLISH II WEEKLY PLANS

Monday, November 12, 2018

No School


Tuesday, November 13, 2018

Discussion over Chapters 19-22

Quiz over chapters 13-18

Read Chapters 23-24 for homework


Wednesday, November 14, 2018

Bell ringer: Mastery Prep

Discussion of Chapters 23-24

Read Chapters 25-26

Quiz tomorrow over 19-24


Thursday, November 15, 2018

Bell Ringer: Mastery Prep

Quiz over 19-24

Read Chapters 27-28


Friday, November 16, 2018

Bell Ringer: Every Day Edit

Chapters 29-31


____________________________________________________

Lesson Plans 11/5/18


Monday

Bell Ringer: Every Day Edit

Present the TKAM Living Literature Photos

Read Chapters 13-15


Tuesday

Election Day- No School


Wednesday

Bell Ringer: Mastery Prep

Read Chapters 16-17

Work on the trial handout in the study guide


Thursday

Bell Ringer: Mastery Prep

Read Chapters 18

Quiz over 13-18


Friday

Bell Ringer: Mastery Prep

Read Chapters 19-20

Analysis: Atticus’s closing remarks in Tom’s trial

Homework: Read Chapters 21-22

________________________________________________________________________

Monday, October 29, 2018

Complete all of page 12-13

Write down 2 scenes from the book that you found humorous and explain why

Discussion over chapters 10-11

Watch a video clip from the film


Tuesday, October 30, 2018

Pre-reading activities to Part II

Internal and External Conflict

Read Chapter 12

Catch up on study questions

Quiz tomorrow over Chapters 7-12


Wednesday, October 31, 2018

Quiz over chapters 7-12

Article 6 of the Bill of Rights

Begin Chapter 13

Discuss the chapter


Thursday, November 1, 2018

Read Chapters 14-15

Class discussion


Friday, November 2, 2018

Read Chapters 16-17

Class discussion

_______________________________________________________

Lesson Plans 10/22/18

English II


Monday, October 22, 2018

Bell ringer: Mastery Prep

Read Chapter 4 and 5


Tuesday, October 23, 2018

Bell ringer: Mastery Prep

Read Chapter 6

Work on study guides

Writing: What memories of your own childhood come

to mind as you read about Scout’s experiences?


Wednesday, October 24, 2018

Bell ringer: Every Day Edit

Quiz over chapters 1-6


Thursday, October 25, 2018

Bell ringer: Every Day Edit

Read Chapter 7-8


Friday,October 26, 2018

Bell ringer: Every Day Edit

Read Chapter 9-10

Finish the reading for homework


________________________________________________

Monday, October 15, 2018

Finish up presentations

Begin the To Kill a Mockingbird WebQuest (group work)

Create a Google Slides Presentation using the information from the webquest


Tuesday, October 16, 2018

Bell Ringer:Mastery Prep

Finish up the WebQuest


Wednesday, October 17, 2018

JigSaw the background information from each Groups Slides

Hand out the Study Guide for the book


Thursday, October 18, 2018

Bell Ringer:Mastery Prep

Read and discuss chapter 1 of To Kill a Mockingbird

Make a bookmark for the book


Friday, October 19, 2018

Bell Ringer: Every Day Edit

Read Chapter 2

_________________________________________________________

Monday, October 1, 2018

Bell Ringer: Mastery Prep

Work on projects: Design and construct posters/ shelter models


Tuesday, October 2, 2018

Bell Ringer: Mastery Prep

Work on Projects: Finish construction of posters/ shelter models

Write the script for the video


Wednesday, October 3, 2018

Bell Ringer: Mastery Prep

Work on project: Finish up the script for the video

Projects due on Friday!


Thursday, October 4, 2018

TCAT and Vol State trip


Friday, October 5, 2018

2 Hour Late Schedule

STEM Projects are due


__________________________________________________

Monday, September 24, 2018

Bell Ringer: Mastery Prep- Pronouns

Introduce STEM Project

Arrange groups

Assign topics


Tuesday, September 25, 2018

Bell Ringer: Mastery Prep- Pronouns

Work in groups on the STEM Project

Research topics


Wednesday, September 26, 2018

Bell Ringer: Mastery Prep- Pronouns

Benchmark Test Review


Thursday, September 27, 2018

Bell Ringer:Every Day Edit

Benchmark 1 Test


Friday, September 28, 2018

Bell Ringer: Every Day Edit

Work in groups on the STEM Project

Begin working on the PSA Poster or shelter design

________________________________________________________________


Lesson Plans

9/10/18


Monday, September 10

Bell Ringer:

Read “By the Waters of Babylon”

Complete the handout (can be found on Schoology)

Discussion on naive, credible, and uncredible narrator


Tuesday, September 11

Bell Ringer: ACT Mastery Prep

Finish “By the Waters of Babylon” handout

Documentary video over 9/11

Discussion: Is America safe? How has our country changed as a result of the attack?


Wednesday, September, 12

Bell Ringer: ACT Mastery Prep

Begin Poe and watch a documentary

Biography: Poe

Notes over Symbolism and Allegory

Read “Masque of the Red Death”


Thursday, September 13

Bell Ringer: ACT Mastery Prep

Finish “Masque of the Red Death”

Symbolism and Allegory as they appear in the story

Create a storyboard over Poe’s story at storyboardthat.com


Friday, September 14

Bell Ringer: ACT prep

MOTRD Quiz

Read the Information Text over the Plague

_________________________________________________________________


9/3/18


Monday, September 3, 2018

NO SCHOOL- LABOR DAY


Tuesday, September 4, 2018

Bell Ringer: None

Discuss indirect and direct characterization in “A Visit to Grandmother”

Turn in critical thinking and literary analysis questions

No Red Ink- Verbs

Honors: Silent Reading The Turn of the Screw


Wednesday, September 5, 2018

Bell Ringer: Choose one statement that you agree with.

In 5-7 sentences, explain why you feel that way.

-Technology will be the salvation of mankind.

-Technology will be the destruction of mankind.

Setting and description

Greek prefix -ic

Begin Reading “There Will Come Soft Rains”


Thursday, September 6, 2018

Bell Ringer: Pg. 293 Vocabulary 1-6 and 1-2

Critical Thinking over ““There Will Come Soft Rains”

Test Practice: Reading/Making Inferences pg. 296-297

Notes over Point of view pg. 306


Friday, September 7, 2018

Bell Ringer:pg. 294 Irregular Verbs Practice A & B

1st Block-No Red Ink

Quiz over "A Visit to Grandmother" and "There Will Come Soft Rains"

Review Point of View

Read “By the Waters of Babylon”

________________________________________________________________


Lesson Plans 8/27/18


Monday, August 27, 2018

Bell Ringer: Pg 177 Vocabulary 1-6 & 1-2

Pg. 153 Author’s Purpose

Pg. 168 Read “Making History With Vitamin C”

Pg.176 Critical Thinking 1-5


Tuesday, August 28

Bell Ringer: No Red Ink: Singular and Plural Possessives

Review for the Unit 1 Test

Pg. Cumulative Review pg. 213-215

Test Tomorrow


Wednesday, August 29

Bell Ringer: Study notes for the test

Test over Unit 1

No Red Ink Activity

Honors: Assign The Turn of the Screw

Have read by September 13th

Essay due Monday, Sept. 17th


Thursday, August 30

Unit 2: pg. 226-Take notes over & discuss all bold print words on page 226-227

Pg. 229-Read “Early Autumn” and discuss the characterization used

Review Pg. 239 Character and Characterization

Read “A Visit to Grandmother”

Finish reading for homework (On Schoology)



Friday, August 31

Bell Ringer: pg. 253 Vocabulary A & B; 1 & 2

Critical Thinking pg. 252 and review answers

Discuss the story asking for examples of characterization

Pg. 266 Verbs Practice A

___________________________________________________________________


Monday, August 20, 2018

Bell ringer: pg 135 Vocabulary 1-6 & 1-2

Critical Thinking Questions pg 134

Pg. 88-89- Making Predictions

Pg. 90-91 Analyzing Expository Texts

Pg. 96 Comparing Style


Tuesday, August 21, 2018

Bell Ringer: Set up No Red Ink

Check Skyward for any missing assignments

Work/Ask teacher about anything you need help with

Pg. 150 Personal Pronouns

Review for the quiz

Quiz tomorrow over


Wednesday, August 22

Unit 1 Quiz

Complete the No Red Ink Assignments



Thursday, August 23

Bell Ringer: Pg. 178 Relative Pronouns A & B

Pg 180-181 Test Practice: Cause and Effect

Pg 182-185- Evaluate Sources


Friday, August 24

Pg. 188-198 Irony and Paradox

Read “Like the Sun” and “The Open Window”

Critical Thinking Questions pg 198

_______________________________________________________________


Lesson Plans 8/13/18

English II


Monday, August 13, 2018


Anticipation Questions
Read “The Leap” pg. 47-54
Critical Thinking Questions pg. 54
Pg. 55 Vocabulary section 1-6 and 1-2

Tuesday, August 14, 2018


Bell Ringer: pg. 56 Common and Proper Nouns
Pg. 59 Author’s perspective and making predictions
Read “Occupation: Conductorette”
Pg. 84 Critical Thinking 1-5

Wednesday, August 15, 2018


Bell Ringer:
Pg. 85 Vocabulary 1-6 & 1-2
Pg. 86 Abstract and Concrete Nouns
Pg 115 : Conflict and Resolution (Notes over bold terms)
Anticipation Questions (Agree or Disagree)
Read “Contents of the Dead Man’s Pocket”

Thursday, August 16, 2018


Read “Contents of the Dead Man’s Pocket”
Physical Activity Day

Honors: Summer Novel Discussion and Q & A



Friday, August 17, 2018


Critical Thinking Questions
pg. 135 Vocabulary 1-6 & 1-2
Schoology/ No Red Ink

Honors: Summer Reading Test


____________________________________________________________________

Monday, August 6, 2018

Hand out the syllabus and policy statement
Introduce to the teacher web page
Sign up for Remind
Schoology
Beginning-of-Year Test tomorrow

Tuesday, August 7, 2018
Turn in signature sheet for the first daily grade
Take the Beginning-of-Year Test

Wednesday, August 8, 2018
Begin Unit 1: Discuss the Big Question pg. 2
Review academic vocabulary pg. 3
Elements of Fiction and Non-Fiction pgs. 4-7
Close Read: Model Text- Fahrenheit 451 pg. 9

Thursday, August 9, 2018
Plot and Foreshadowing pg. 29
Anticipation Questions
Read “The Monkey’s Paw”p pg.31-42
Critical Thinking Questions 1-4 pg 42

Friday, August 10, 2018
Bell ringer- Bell ringer- ACT Friday
pg. 43 Vocabulary section 1-6 & 1-2 (Turn in to Mrs. Gore)
Set up NoRedInk accounts and take the diagnostic
Explore Schoology account


Recent Announcements

Homework Assignments

  • Weekly Lesson Plans Lesson Plans can be found on the Home page.
    Posted Aug 3, 2018, 6:54 AM by Dana Gore
Showing posts 1 - 1 of 1. View more »