Useful Links



5th grade science



Amateur Radio is coming to our school! Practice for your license:

4th grade poetry

4th grade Fractions


Amateur Radio

Love Your Brain
Kahn Academy: http://www.khanacademy.org/
Presidential Word Search:  http://www.tlsbooks.com/presidentswordsearch.pdf 
Valentine's Day Anniversaries Logic Puzzle:  http://www.braingle.com/44399.html 
Brainteasers from Hoagies' Gifted: http://www.hoagiesgifted.org/brain_teasers.htm


AIG
Orange County Schools' AIG Department: http://www.orange.k12.nc.us/academic_dept_pages/aig.html
North Carolina's State Department of Public Instruction AIG information:http://www.ncpublicschools.org/academicservices/gifted/
The North Carolina Association for the Gifted and Talented:http://www.ncagt.org/
Renzulli Learning: http://renzullilearning.com/default.aspx
North Carolina Future Problem Solvershttp://www.nc-fps.org/

Quest Atlantis
The official Quest Atlantis site. If your child has a QA account, you can download the software for free and your child can quest from home.  http://atlantis.crlt.indiana.edu/

Alice
Download Alice for free and program at home: http://www.alice.org/

Of Interest to Parents of Gifted Students
"How Not to Talk to Your Kids: The inverse power of praise" by Po Bronson: http://nymag.com/news/features/27840/
Free e-book from Free Spirit Press: "You Know Your Child is Gifted When...": http://www.freespirit.com/files/OTHER/YouKnowYourChildIsGiftedWhen.pdf

North Carolina Robotics
Triangle Amateur Robotics: http://triangleamateurrobotics.org/
Splat Space Durham: http://splatspace.org/

GeoBee Study Aids
The Official GeoBee website, including a daily geography quiz. Test your knowledge against the best! http://www.nationalgeographic.com/geobee/
National Geographic's Kids' Page: http://kids.nationalgeographic.com/kids/games/geographygames/
Free geography games for kids: http://www.kidsgeo.com/geography-games/
More free geography games for kids!  http://www.sheppardsoftware.com/Geography.htm
Geography game from Discovery Education:http://school.discoveryeducation.com/schooladventures/geogame/
The Animaniacs' version of the 50 States and Capitals: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sNUDDaEOvuY
The Animaniacs sing the countries of the world. (Some of these countries no longer exist or have changed their names.  Can you spot them?) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IDtdQ8bTvRc
Geography page from the Guide to Online Schools.  http://www.guidetoonlineschools.com/library/geography-for-students