Projects

D7‎ > ‎Online Manual‎ > ‎Usage‎ > ‎

DataRestore



The DataRestore tab is intended to restore backups made by DataGrab.  
  • DataRestore can restore to both live Windows systems and offline Windows partitions.  
  • DataRestore can restore backed up Windows data to a newer Windows OS (e.g. restore XP backups to Windows 7.)
Location of Stored Backup - Select your DataRestore.ini file here.  The file is located within the backup folder that DataGrab created.  Once the backup is selected, other fields will be automatically populated such as the user list to restore.  

Restore to Partition - Select the partition to restore the data to.  By default the current OS partition will be selected, however you may elect to restore data to an offline Windows installation here.  

Select User Accounts to Restore - Here you have a list of the user accounts to restore; simply check the user accounts in the list you wish to restore and uncheck the onese you do not wish to restore.  
  • Backup user accounts may be restored to completely different new user profiles.  Ex. you may restore the "User" named user account to a new account named "George"
    • Utilize the Backup User and Restore to User comboboxes to the right of the list in order to choose a new restore configuration.  
      • First select the existing Backup User from the dropdown box.  
      • Next you may select an existing user account from the Restore to User box, or type in the name of a new account and it will be created for you. 
  • Any user account that does not already exist will be automatically created for you prior to the data restore restoration.  
    • The user account that is created automatically will be an Administrator account with no password.
Wildcard / Partition Search Backups:  This is referring to DataGrab's additional backups from the entire partition search options.  
  • Do Not Restore -  by default the option to not restore these is selected, allowing you to decide where to put the backups should you want to manually restore them.  '
  • Original Location - the backups will be restored to their original locations within the file system.
  • My Documents in Profile - this option will put all backups in the My Documents folder of the selected profile in the combobox below this option.  
Other Backed up Folders to Restore:  This option restores additional backups from the folders you have selected in DataGrab's "Additional Folders to Backup" section.

Re-import .REG Files:  This option re-imports various .REG file backups (and Wireless Profile XML export files) made by DataGrab.  These backups can include:
  • Account settings for Outlook / Outlook Express / Windows Mail / Windows Live Mail in each user profile.  
  • ODBC settings for HKLM and each user profile.
  • IE Typed URL History and other various Internet Explorer settings for each user profile.
  • Start/Run Typed History for each user profile.  
  • Screen saver settings for each user profile.
  • Windows wallpaper settings for each user profile.
  • Various Explorer desktop settings for each user profile.  
  • Wireless Connection Profiles (the initial backup and restore must both be run on the live/current OS and only Vista/7 is supported.)
Move Files:  This option obviously moves the files from the backup location instead of copying them.  

DataPut button:  Obviously, this starts DataPut with the specified configuration.  
  • The first thing DataPut will do is create user accounts for each user profile that does not already exist.
  • Next (if on Vista/7 with UAC enabled) DataPut will disable UAC and restart the PC so that it does not interfere with the data restoration process.
  • Next DataPut will automatically login to each new user account it created in order to properly generate the user profile and directory structure.  
  • Finally, DataPut will begin restoring data.
  • Last, DataPut will (if configured) import various .REG file backups.  
  • An alert will be sounded and a message box pops up when all operations are completed.  
NOTE:  Restore Shares and Permissions button:  
  • This operation is to restore Shares, Share Permissions, and NTFS Permissions that were backed up by the new button on the DataGrab tab.  
  • This operation should be performed AFTER DataPut has restored the data backups.  
  • These features include the ability to restore backed up users, however this is unnecessary if you used DataPut to create new user accounts automatically.  You should de-select all users from the list before restoring, unless these are additional users and you have specific need to restore them (EX: they are network users where their user permissions are part of the Share/NTFS permissions that you are restoring.