The Northern Suburban Special Education District (NSSED) Foundation is a non-profit organization dedicated to enhancing the quality of life of thousands of students with disabilities and their families attending the 65 public schools on the north shore. 

We advocate for new programs and services that are beyond the scope and budget of the public schools. Promoting awareness and acceptance of people with special needs is a key tenet of our mission to ensure that every person with a disability has an equal opportunity to live a happy, meaningful life.

The Foundation serves students with disabilities (age 3 to 21 years) currently residing in the 18 school districts within the Northern Special Education District Special Education District (NSSED).  NSSED is a special education joint agreement in the north shore suburbs of Chicago serving a total of 40,000 students. Member school districts are:            

Northbrook District 27
Northbrook District 28
Sunset Ridge District 29
Northbrook/Glenview District 30
West Northfield District 31
Glenview District 34
Glencoe District 35
Winnetka District 36
Kenilworth District 38
Lake Bluff District 65 
Lake Forest District 67
Bannockburn District 106 
Deerfield District 109
North Shore District 112 
Deerfield/Highland Park H.S. District 113
Lake Forest H.S. District 115 
New Trier H.S. District 203
Glenbrook H.S. District 225

For more information about NSSED visit www.nssed.org