Home‎ > ‎Services‎ > ‎

The 35th ACM/SIGAPP Symposium On Applied Computing Special Track on Internet of Things (IoT)

Mar. 30 - Apr. 3, 2020, Brno, Czech Republic

Track Description

The Internet of Things (IoT) is a network of smart objects with pervasive and autonomous communication through internet connectivity. It has been emerged as a powerful and promising technology with significant technical, social and economic impacts. However, there are also lots of challenges to overcome to realize the potential benefits of IoT. The IoT track aims at bringing together researchers, experts, and practitioners from academia, industry, and government, to discuss current trends in research, practices, and education efforts of IoT. The track intends to foster the identification of the challenges facing IoT and approaches for solving them. The topics of the proposed track include, but are not limited to:

  • IoT Architectures, Systems and Testbeds
  • IoT Standards
  • Networking Technologies for IoT
  • Protocols and Algorithms for IoT
  • Data Management for IoT
  • Power Management for IoT
  • Data Analytics for IoT
  • Cognitive IoT
  • Identity Management in IoT
  • Security and Privacy of IoT
  • Social and Human Aspects in IoT
  • Cloud Computing and IoT
  • Body sensor networks
  • Intelligent Transportation Systems
  • Smart Grids
  • Smart Homes and Smart Cities
  • Smart Agriculture
  • Industrial IoT Applications
  • Consumer IoT Applications

Submission Guideline

Papers that offer novel research contributions in the above-mentioned areas are solicited for the special track on Internet of Things. Papers must be written in English. The file format should be PDF, and papers must be formatted according to the template available at the SAC 2020 website. ACM SAC has the double blind review policy. Hence, the submission must be anonymous; no author name and affiliation must appear in the body of the paper, and self-reference should be in the third person. Submission of regular/poster papers is through https://www.softconf.com/j/sac2020. Submission of SRC abstracts is through https://www.softconf.com/j/sac-src2020.

Regular papers are limited to 8 pages, in camera-ready format, included in the registration fee. Authors have the option to include up to two (2) extra pages at additional fee. Posters are limited to 3 pages, in camera-ready format, included in the registration fee. Authors have the option to include only one (1) extra page at additional fee. SRC Abstracts are limited to 2 pages, in camera-ready format, included in the registration fee. No extra pages allowed.

Paper registration is required, allowing the inclusion of the papers, posters, and SRC abstracts in the conference proceedings. An author or a proxy attending SAC MUST present the paper: This is a requirement for the paper/poster to be included in the ACM digital library. No-show of registered papers, posters, and SRC abstracts will result in excluding them from the ACM digital library.

Student Research Competition

Student Research Competition (SRC) Program: Graduate students are invited to submit research abstracts (maximum of 4-page) following the instructions published at SAC 2020 website. Submission of the same abstract to multiple tracks is not allowed. All research abstract submissions will be reviewed by researchers and practitioners with expertise in the track focus area to which they are submitted. Authors of selected abstracts will have the opportunity to give poster presentations of their work and compete for three top-winning places. The SRC committee will evaluate and select First-, Second-, and Third- place winners. The winners will receive cash awards and SIGAPP recognition certificates during the conference banquet. Authors of selected abstracts are eligible to apply to the SIGAPP Student Travel Award program for support.

Important Dates

  • Paper submission deadline: Sept. 29, 2019
  • Notification of acceptance: Nov. 24, 2019
  • Camera-ready deadline: Dec. 9 2019
  • Author early registration: Dec. 9, 2019

Track Chairs

  • Gail-Joon Ahn, Arizona State University (Gail-Joon.Ahn@asu.edu)
  • Seong-Je Cho, Dankook University (sjcho@dku.edu)
  • Jun Zheng, New Mexico Tech (jun.zheng@nmt.edu)

Program Committee

  • Jinsung Cho, KyungHee University, South Korea
  • Zongming Fei, University of Kentucky, USA
  • Sepideh Ghanavati, University of Maine, USA
  • Jinhua Guo, University of Michigan, USA
  • Junyoung Heo, Hansung University, South Korea
  • Hongxin Hu, Clemson University, USA
  • BooJoong Kang, Queen's University Belfast, UK
  • Younghyun Kim, University of Wisconsin - Madison, USA
  • Mun Kyu Lee, Inha University, South Korea
  • Shancang Li, University of the West of England, UK
  • Juan Luo, Hunan University, China
  • Davide Maiorca, University of Cagliari, Italy
  • Alessio Merlo, University of Genova, Italy
  • Radu Mihailescu, Malmo University, Sweden
  • Satyajayant Jay Misra, New Mexico State University, USA
  • Mithun Mukherjee, Guangdong University of Petrochemical Technology, China
  • Mengyu Qiao, South Dakota School of Mines and Technology, USA
  • Ramyaa Ramyaa, New Mexico Tech, USA
  • Filippo Ricca, University of Genova, Italy
  • Houbing Song, Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University, USA
  • Minseok Song, Inha University, South Korea
  • Jiawei Yuan, Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University, USA
  • Shigeng Zhang, Central South University, China
  • Liqiang Zhang, University of Indiana, USA
  • Liang Zhao, Dalian University of Technology, China
  • Ziming Zhao, Rochester Institute of Technology, USA