About Ksou

About Karnataka State Open University

The Karnataka State Open University established on 1st June 1996 vide Karnataka Govt. Notification No. ED 1 UOV 95 dated 12th February 1996 - KSOU Act 1992 is considered to be a reputed Open University amongst the open learning institutions in the country. Keeping in view the educational needs of our country, in general, and state in particular the policies and programmes have been geared to cater to the needy. 

Karnataka State Open University is a recognised University of Distance Education Council (DEC), New Delhi, regular member of the Association of Indian Universities (AIU), Delhi, permanent member of Association of Commonwealth Universities (ACU), London, UK, Asian Association of Open Universities (AAOU), Beijing, China, and also has association with Commonwealth of Learning (COL).

Karnataka State Open University is situated at the North–Western end of the Manasagangotri campus, Mysore. The campus, which is about 5 Kms, from the city centre, has a serene atmosphere ideally suited for academic pursuits. The University houses at present the Administrative Office, Academic Block, Lecture Halls, a well-equipped Library, Guest House Cottages, a Moderate Canteen, Girls Hostel and a few cottages providing limited accommodation to students coming to Mysore for attending the Contact Programmes or Term-end examinations.


The University System is a respected higher-learning organization known for its distinctive strengths in providing superior and relevant distance learning programs to its learners. In pursuing this vision, the University System: • Creates interactive, effective learning environments for all constituents 

• Serves its constituents’ diverse personal and professional development needs.
• Expands access to affordable programs to underserved learners


His Excellency Governor of Karnataka 
Sri Aravind Limbavali

Hon'ble Minister of Higher Education
Government of Karnataka 

Prof. K.S.Rangappa
Sri K. R. Jayaprakash Rao, KAS 

Dean (Academic)
Prof. Jagadeesha 

Registrar (Examination)
Prof. R. Somappa 

Finance Officer
Smt. G. Nagamani

Dean (Study Centres)
Prof. M. Susheela Urs

Deputy Registrar (General & Lessons) Sri Bhadraiah 

Deputy Registrar (Study Centres) Dr M Ramanatham 

Naidu Deputy Libriarian Sri M.Gopal Swamy
Deputy Registrar (Examination-1) Sri Doddanaika 

Deputy Registrar (Examination-2) Sri Devaraj Deputy 

Registrar (Admission) Sri H.L Vishwanath


The Karnataka State Open University came into being to achieve the following objectives:
• Democratizing Higher Education by taking it to the doorsteps of the learners
• Providing access to high quality education to all those who seek it, irrespective of age, region or formal qualifications.
• Offering need – based academic Programmes by giving professional and vocational orientation to the programme.
• Promoting and developing distance education in India
• Relaxed entry regulations
• Providing opportunities to study according to one’s own pace and convenience
• Flexibility in choosing the combination of courses from a wide range of disciplines
• Providing opportunity to study from one’s own chosen place and pace
The gadget you added is not valid