Announcements‎ > ‎

04/20 - 21 - Science Olympiad participates in State Competion

posted Apr 18, 2018, 11:55 AM by Jeffrey Jones   [ updated Apr 23, 2018, 6:48 PM ]
Science Olympiad participated in the state competition in Raleigh on Friday 4/20-Saturday 4/21.  
Ms. Deborah Gill is the sponsor of Science Olympiad.

Congratulate the Science Olympiad team members when you see them for the great job they did at the state tournament in Raleigh. 

The entire team also won the Spirit Award and did a fantastic job of representing Laney!

The following students placed in their events: 
  • Nick Karras and Natalie Kelmer 5th in Dynamic Planet; 
  • Matt Weaver and Amy Leister 7th in Herpetology;
  • Laine Sherman and Cody Curran 8th in Mission Possible; 
  • Amy Leister and Natalie Kelmer 4th in Rocks and Minerals; 
  • Laney Larkins and Aidan Ellsworth 9th in Write It, Do It; 
  • Cate Cornelius and Jade Taylor 10th in Fermi Question; 
  • Allison Carpenter and Ben Arcuri 3rd in Mystery Design; 
  • Jade Taylor 5th in Paper Science; 
  • and Priyanka Vadrevu and Cody Curran 1st place for a practically perfect run with their Mousetrap Vehicle.  Their first place finish also won each of them a $2,500 scholarship to NC State. 
Students attending:
Ben Arcuri
Derek Blaisdell
Allison Carpenter
Cate Cornelius
Reid Cummons
Cody Curran
Aidan Ellsworth
Ashton Hines
Drew Jarboe
Nick Karras
Natalie Kelmer
Laney Larkins
Amy Leister
Francisco Reyes
Kendall Scott
Laine Sherman
Jade Taylor
Priyanka Vadrevu
Matt Weaver