Announcements‎ > ‎

Four Students Receive Ronald Reagan Student Leader Awards

posted May 8, 2017, 12:17 PM by Jeffrey Jones   [ updated May 8, 2017, 1:15 PM ]

E.A. Laney High School Awards 4 Recipients of the Ronald Reagan Student Leader Awards

Garrett Smith, Hannah Elkins, Alex Shaffer, and Leroy Pridgen are the 2017 recipients of the Ronald Reagan Student Leader Awards.

Each year, the Ronald Reagan Foundation works with schools from across the country to recognize and celebrate outstanding student leadership.

Each recipient is invited to share his/her story on the website of the Ronald Reagan Foundation.

To learn more about the Ronald Reagan Student Leader Awards Program, visit the website at

Leroy Pridgen

The Ronald Reagan Student Leader Awards are given to high school juniors who exhibit the following characteristics:


Reagan Student Leaders exemplify, inside and outside the classroom,

President Reagan’s legacy of leadership and service.

They thrive in extracurricular activities and pursue leadership roles to make a positive difference in their school, in their community and on the job.

Scholars appreciate the value of a quality education and have an affinity for discovery and lifelong learning.

They are conscientious about their studies and earnestly pursue academic achievement.

Their initiative, imagination and innovation will play a significant role as our country tackles the problems of tomorrow.


Just as President Reagan did, Reagan Student Leaders optimistically look toward the future and pursue success with faith and determination.

They have the conviction, ambition and courage to make their dreams reality.

They approach their goals with an “it can be done” persistence, and are not deterred by life’s challenges.

Scholars aspire to advance themselves, their families, and their communities with perpetual hope, self motivation and the power of hard work.

They model uncompromising discipline, reliability and work ethic in balancing school obligations with employment.

Garrett Smith, Hannah Elkins, and Alex Shaffer


Reagan Student Leaders are rooted in their principles, values and ethics.

They possess the unique combination of self confidence and humility that defined President Reagan’s leadership.

They earn the respect of their peers by demonstrating genuine integrity, dependability and hope for a brighter future.

Reagan Student Leaders value family and demonstrate a strong commitment to their role as a contributing member.

Often, they make sacrifices to support the overall needs of those around them.


Reagan Student Leaders are driven by a sense of civic commitment and pride to actively engage in their communities and affect positive change.

They deeply value the freedom and equality that make our nation unique and prosperous.

Reagan Student Leaders exhibit President Reagan’s ideals of personal accountability, tolerance and a belief in the human potential.

They possess the awareness, empathy and internal motivation to improve their communities.

They serve selflessly in pursuit of prosperity for their fellow students and citizens.

President Reagan envisioned a society where individual liberty, economic opportunity, global democracy and national pride are cherished.

Reagan Student Leaders share President Reagan’s unwavering patriotism and belief in the virtues and abilities of free people and the country they built.

There are any number of ways in which student leaders can influence and inspire others to achieve great things.

President Ronald Reagan had a firm belief that individuals determine their destiny through ambition and hard work.

Partner schools award the Ronald Reagan Student Leader Awards to the students they feel best exemplify what it means to be an outstanding leader.