NG Style Manual‎ > ‎- C -‎ > ‎


Two countries contain Congo as part of their names:
            the Republic of the Congo (short: Congo)
            the Democratic Republic of the Congo (formerly Zaire)

The internationally recognized short form for the Republic of the Congo is Congo.

The Democratic Republic of the Congo has no internationally recognized short form, and therefore National Geographic maps generally use the entire name.

In text generally give the full country name in the first reference. Congo may then be used in subsequent references as long as the meaning is clear.

Be careful not to confuse the Congo River, which may also be called the Congo, with the countries.

The Congo Basin, the region drained by the Congo River, may be shortened to the Congo.

Congolese is the adjective for both countries, the river, and the region.