NGS Style Manual‎ > ‎- C -‎ > ‎

Central America, Middle America

Central America is composed of  Guatemala and Belize south to and including Panama:
            Guatemala, Belize, El Salvador, Honduras, Nicaragua, Costa Rica, Panama.

Central America does not include the Caribbean islands.

Middle America is composed of Mexico, Central America, and the West Indies (Caribbean islands).