School Board Meeting Guide




 Welcome to a Nelson County School Board Meeting.  The members of the Nelson County School Board and the Division Superintendent are please that you have chosen to participate in our meeting process and believe that your participation will assist the Board in making well informed decisions.


    The School Board Meeting Guide has been prepared to assist you in understanding how the Nelson County School Board meetings are conducted and how you may participate.  The School Board schedules meetings once a month, with special meetings throughout the year.  Meetings of the School Board are typically held in the Library of Nelson Middle School (location subject to change) beginning at 6:00 p.m.  Times and locations are subject to change.  Please contact the School Board Clerk’s office for definite meeting dates, times and locations. 


Types of Nelson County

School Board Meetings


    Regular Meetings are normally held on the second Thursday of each month.  These meetings include “information” and “action” items that the School Board is considering.  Awards and commendations to students, staff, and community are usually presented.


    Work Session Meetings are scheduled for review of a subject in greater depth than is possible during the regular meeting.  Limited voting or public comment takes place.  The public is always welcome to attend.


    Closed Meetings are called for discussion of personnel, student discipline, land acquisitions or other confidential matters authorized by the Code of Virginia that might adversely affect the School Division/County’s finances or legal liability if addressed publicly.  While the general subject of these meetings is made known, closed meetings are not open to the public. 

Public Comments


    Anyone may speak at School Board meetings.  Your comments are most effective when addressed to specific agenda items or matters of general concern.  Matters pertaining to personnel issues are addressed in Closed Session only.  For an issue that is not on the agenda, the School Board will hear a citizen under the agenda’s Public Comments section.  For an issue that is on the agenda, the School Board will accept comments when the item is being considered on the agenda.  The School Board Chair will ask for public comment.


    Members of the public who wish to address the Board are required to sign up for public comment before the meeting begins.  Persons not on the signup sheet will be allowed to speak if time permits.  Information papers are encouraged and may be provided to the Board through the Clerk.  The papers may be useful to explain points not covered in the oral presentation.




 Addressing the Board


    Persons addressing the Board are asked to be courteous and respectful.  Individuals are asked to approach the Board, state your name and address for the record.  Public comments are limited to three (3) minutes per person.  The total amount of public comments may be limited by the Board.  Individuals may not comment twice on the same item.





    Agendas are available at the meeting or at the School Board Office on the Monday before a meeting.  Agendas are also placed on the community bulletin board in the School Board Office prior to meetings.  Board minutes of public meetings are also available at the School Board Office after they have been adopted by the School Board.



Conduct of Meetings


    Meetings are conducted using Robert’s Rules of Order.  The Chair is responsible for the orderly conduct of all meetings.  Dialogue between staff, presenters, Superintendent, and Board members usually results from the exchange of ideas and presentation of data.  Based on the Board’s discretion, public comment may or may not be received.  With the exception of Closed Meetings, all Board meetings are open to the public, and the public is encouraged to attend.  Attendance at Closed Meetings is limited to the Board.  Other persons whose attendance is relevant to a particular issue usually include the Superintendent and/or any other person(s) whom the Board may invite.  A motion to go into session and a motion to come out of session are requirements for Closed Meetings. 


Individual Problems

and/or Complaints


    To ensure due process and respect for individual rights, the school division maintains a formal process for handling complaints against individuals.  A problem involving an individual or specific incident is best handled through administrative channels.  Employees that have individual/ group problems or complaints are expected to exhaust all administrative opportunities (including, but not limited to, advisory councils and central office support) to seek a remedy to their problems or complaints.  The Nelson County School Board will act as a source of appeal only beyond the Superintendent level.


    Written communications addressed to the School Board may be mailed or delivered to:


Nelson County School Board

84 Courthouse Square

P.O. Box 276

Lovingston, VA  22949


Additional resources of meeting policy and school information include:


  • Nelson County School Board Policy Manual 
    • Section B – School Board Governance and Operations
  • Virginia School Laws 22.1, Education

Nelson County Public Schools

84 Courthouse Square   P.O. Box 276  Lovingston, VA 22949

(434) 260-7646 FAX 434-263-7115

Non-Discrimination Policy  |  Privacy Statement  |  Terms & Conditions

FOIA Contact:  Shannon Irvin -, (434) 260-7646, 

P O Box 276, Lovingston, Va.  22949 - Policy KBA-R

We are currently in the process of reviewing and updating our website to be ADA Compliant.

About the School Board

    The School Board is responsible for governing the school division for the public.  The School Board determines school division policy and employs the Superintendent to enact it.  The Superintendent, administrative staff and teachers are responsible for day-to-day operations.  The Nelson County School Board consists of five (5) elected members.


Janet Turner-Giles, North District

Debbie Harvey, East District

Dave Francis, Central District, Chair

Ceasar Perkins, South District

J. David Parr, West District - Vice Chair 



Jeff Comer

Asst. Superintendent of 

Administration/Deputy Clerk

Shannon T. Irvin

School Board Clerk

Kathy F. Hughes