MaMaafi

Navigation

831days since
Momentum Film Due

Welcome to Physics

Links to Resources

About Me

I have been an educator in the public and private sector for 28 years.  I grew up in Montclair, New Jersey and graduated from Rutgers University with a degree in Biology.  I had wanted to be a veterinarian since I was a young girl....my mom reminds me of the times that she had found many of my experiments stored in the refrigerator.  Specifically, I had pithed a bullfrog and kept it in the refrigerator in a state of suspended life for a week using Ringers solution before my mom realized what was going on.  I was in the ninth grade and very interested in anatomy and physiology. Upon graduating from college, I came to California to join my family who had since moved here.  My mom is a member of the Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc. and has a soror who was then an administrator at the former Roosevelt Jr. High School in Oakland California...her name was Barbara Davis.  Ms. Davis reported to my mom that they were short a science teacher.  My mom offered that I was a newly graduated science major, and that maybe I would  be a short term solution for her needs.  Five emergency credential renewals later, I possessed a clear single subject credential authorizing me to teach biology, chemistry and physics, and the rest is history.

I am the mom of three sons, Chukwudi, Kumi and Cheikh.  Chukwudi and Kumi graduated from the Alameda Community Learning Center, where I taught for 8 years before coming to Nea.  Chukwudi is a student of Berklee College of Music in Boston and is working for Nea as a paraprofessional and music facilitator for a year before heading back to Boston.  Kumi is a junior at Stanford University thinking about a major and co-term in neurobiology.  Cheikh is a 3rd grader at Nea, a yellow belt in Kung Fu and an avid Bakugan and Pokemon collector.  In the times that I am not dreaming Nea dreams, I play the piano, work out at the Bladium and practice and perform traditional West African dance and drums.