About the Academy‎ > ‎Goverance‎ > ‎

Board of Directors

To represent the Academy, the Board of Directors of the Academy consists of members that represent the interests of all three branches. The Collegiate Academy and Student Academy have separate boards and meet separately to handle their routine business, but Senior Academy business is addressed during the main board meeting along with items that need to be coordinated between the three branches.

The Board of Directors is composed of elected officers and appointed individuals. The Board meets four times per year to consider business related to the activities and functions of the Academy.

President 2016-2017

Dr. Francie Cuffney

Meredith College Dept Biological Sciences
3800 Hillsborough St
Raleigh NC 27607-5298
Ph: 919-760-2879 Fax: 919-760-8761


Vice President 2016-2017

Dr. James Fuller


340 Commerce Ave. Unit 11

Southern Pines, NC 28387

Ph: 910-294-0099 Fax: 910-637-0004

Email: jrfuller1969@gmail.com


President-Elect 2016-2017

Dr. Alan Goble

Bennett College Dept Psychology
900 E Washington St Box 23
Greensboro NC 27401-3239
Ph: 336-517-2283 Fax: 336-517-2291
Email: goble@bennett.edu

Immediate Past-President 2016-2017

Dr. Maria Santisteban

UNC Pembroke Dept Biology
PO Box 1510
Pembroke NC 28372-1510
Ph: 910-775-4274 Fax: 910-522-5754
Email: maria.santisteban@uncp.edu

Secretary 2015-2018

Dr. Maria Pickering

Meredith College Dept Biological Sciences
3800 Hillsborough St
104 Science and Math Building
Raleigh NC 27607-5298
Ph: 919-760-8437 Fax: 919-760-8761
Email: mpickering@meredith.edu

Treasurer 2016-2019

Shana McAlexander

Ph: 541-610-4518   
Email: slmcalex@ncsu.edu

Elected Member 2014-2017

Dr. Mark McCallum

Dean of School of Arts & Science
Chair of Biology Department
48380 US Hwy 52
Misenheimer, NC 28109 
Ph: 704-463-3307
Email: mark.mccallum@pfeiffer.edu

Elected Member 2015-2018

Dr. David Judge

Gardner-Webb University
Department of Natural Sciences - Biology
PO Box 7221, GWU
Boiling Springs, NC 28017
Ph: 704-406-4368
Email: djudge@Gardner-Webb.edu

Elected Member 2016-2019

Dr. Judy Moore

Assistant Professor in Biology

Lenoir-Rhyne University,

625 7th Ave, Hickory NC 28601

Ph: 828-328-7925


Membership Committee Chairperson 2016-2019

Scott T. Johnson

Natural Sciences/Health & PE
Wake Technical Community College
9101 Fayetteville Rd.
Raleigh, NC 27603
Ph: 919-866-5604
Email: stjohnson@waketech.edu

Finance Committee Chairperson  2015-2018


Ph: xxxxxx

Education Committee Chairperson 2016-2019

Dr. W. Linwood Coker

PO Box 1547
Buies Creek NC 27506
Ph: 910-891-1739
Email: coker@campbell.edu

Publication Committee Chairperson 2015-2018

Dr. Karen Guzman

Campbell Univ Dept Biology
PO Box 308
Buies Creek NC 27506-0308
Ph: 910-814-4365 Fax: 910-893-1887
Email: guzman@campbell.edu

Collegiate Academy Executive Co-Director 2013-2018

Dr. Beth Overman

Methodist University
5400 Ramsey Street
Fayetteville, NC 28311
Ph: 910-480-8457
Email: boverman@methodist.edu

Collegiate Academy Executive Co-Director 


Collegiate Academy President 2016-2017

Anu Hanumanthu

NC State University
Email: ahanuma@ncsu.edu

Student Academy Executive Director 2013-2018

Dr. Amy Sheck

North Carolina School Science & Mathematics
1219 Broad St
Durham NC 27705-3577
Ph: 919-416-2768 Fax: 919-416-2890
Email: sheck@ncssm.edu

Executive Editor of Journal

Dr. Melanie Lee-Brown

Guilford College Dept Biology
35800 W Friendly Ave
Greensboro NC 27410
Ph 336-316-2421 Fax: 336-316-2936
Email: mleebro@guilford.edu

Managing Editor of Journal

Dr. Mark McCallum

Pfeiffer University

Associate Provost and Associate Vice-President for Academic Affairs

Professor of Biology

48380 US Hwy 52

Misenheimer, NC 28109

Ph: 704-463-3307


Ex-officio Members


Annual Meeting Committee Chairperson 2015-2018

Dr. Shaun Williams

Lenoir-Rhyne University

Department of Chemistry

625 7th Avenue NE, Hickory, N.C. 28601

Ph:  828-328-7877


Local Arrangements Committee Chairperson 2014-2015

Dr. Joanne Altman

Office of Undergraduate Research and Creative Works

High Point University

One University Parkway

High Point, NC 27268

Ph: 336-841-9613

: jaltman0@highpoint.edu 

Yarbrough Research Grants Committee Chairperson 2015-2018

Dr. Eric Butler

Assistant Professor of Biology

Shaw University

118 East South St.

Raleigh, NC 27601

Ph: 919-546-8497

Email: ebutler@shawu.edu


Science and Public Policy Committee Chairperson 2016-2019

Dr. Dennis McCracken

UNC-Pembroke Dept Biology
PO Box 1510
Pembroke NC 28372-1510
Ph 910-521-6177
Email: dennis.mccracken@uncp.edu

Strategic Planning CommitteeChairperson 2016-2019

Dr. Parke Rublee

Professor of Biology
Biology Dept, UNCG
PO Box 26170
Greensboro, NC 27402-6170
Ph: 336-256-0067 Fax: 336-334-5839
Email: parublee@uncg.edu

Graduate Counselor 2015-2018

Dr. Carlos Goller

Teaching Associate

Biotechnology Program

North Carolina State University
6102 Jordan Hall

Campus Box 7512
Raleigh, NC 27695

Ph: 919-513-4135

Dr. Kelly's website

Academy Historian

Dr. Lisa Kelly

UNC-Pembroke Dept Biology
PO Box 1510
Pembroke NC 28372-1510
Ph 910-521-6377 Fax: 910-521-6649
Email: lisa.kelly@uncp.edu


Dr. John Clamp

NCCU Dept Biology
1801 Fayetteville St
Durham NC 27707-3169
Ph: 919-580-6395 Fax: 919-530-7773
Email: jclamp@nccu.edu

Web Master

Dr. James Brown

NC State University
Department of Biological Sciences
Box 7607
Raleigh, NC 27695
Ph: 919-515-8803
Email: james_brown@ncsu.edu