Welcome to the Missouri S&T Academy of Computer Science

Welcome to the electronic scrapbook of the Missouri S&T Academy of Computer Science. The Academy was established in 2003 to recognize MSM-Missouri S&T alumni who have distinguished themselves in computer science or a related field. Ten charter members inaugurated on April 24, 2003.  Current membership includes over 30 distinguished members.

The Academy is an active organization, providing advisory guidance and counsel to the chair, faculty and students of computer science at the Missouri University of Science and Technology. Academy members strengthen the dedication and understanding of computer science students through personal and professional example. The Academy is a partner with the Missouri S&T Computer Science Department in developing, advancing and sponsoring key programs of both the Academy and the department by identifying, securing, and providing financial support to the department and its programs. Membership is by invitation, extended from the current members.

2013-2014 is an especially exciting time for us.  We have worked with the Computer Science Department to develop an Experiential Entrepreneurship course which will be offered for the first time in the Fall of 2014.  We were honored to review and provide feedback on the Smart Living proposal which was spearheaded by the Computer Science Department.  On May 6, 2014, Chancellor Schrader announced that Smart Living had been selected as one of Missouri S&T’s four Best-In-Class Signature Areas.  And with the CS Department and the University, we are diligently planning a Computer Science Golden Jubilee celebration for the 2015-16 school year.

On the following web pages, you will find a chronicle of the Academy of Computer Science. On these pages you will learn more about the Academy. You will meet the members and share in their ceremonies, their activities, and their meetings. We hope you enjoy your tour. If you would like additional information about the Academy, please send e-mail to csacdmy@mst.edu.


Pam Leitterman
President, Academy of Computer Science
Retired Business Communicator, Hewlett-Packard Company