Awards‎ > ‎

Scott O'Dell Award

The Scott O'Dell Award

This award was established in 1982 by the noted writer of historical fiction, who hoped to increase interest in the genre. It is awarded annually to "a meritorious book published in the previous year for children or young adults."

  • 2012 winner:  Dead End in Norvelt  by Jack Gantos
  • 2011 winner:   One Crazy Summer , by Rita Williams
  • 2010 winner:  The Storm in the Barn, by Matt Phelan
  • 2009 winnerChains, by Laurie Halse Anderson
  • 2008 winner:  Elijah of Buxton, by Christopher Paul Curtis (also a Newbery Honor book and a CSK winner)
  • 2007 winner:  The Green Glass Sea, by Ellen Klages
  • 2006 winner:  The Game of Silence, by Louise Erdrich
  • 2005 winner:  Worth, by A. LaFaye
  • 2004 winner:  The River Between Us, by Richard Peck
  • 2003 winner:  Trouble Don't Last, by Shelley Pearsall
  • 2002 winner:  The Land, by Mildred D. Taylor (also a CSK winner)
  • 2001 winner:  The Art of Keeping Cool, by Janet Taylor Lisle
  • 2000 winner:  Two Suns in the Sky, by Miriam Bat-Ami
  • 1999 winner:  Forty Acres and Maybe a Mule, by Harriette Robinet
  • 1998 winner:  Out of the Dust, by Karen Hesse
  • 1997 winner:  Jip, His Story,  by Katherine Paterson