Reading Suggestions

Good Reads, Book Reviews & Book Lists

  1. Good Reads YA Book Lists -  http://www.goodreads.com/list/tag/young-adult
  2. YALSA book lists and awards http://www.ala.org/ala/mgrps/divs/yalsa/booklistsawards/booklistsbook.cfm
  3. Teenreads.com http://www.teenreads.com/
  4. Teen Ink Book reviews written by teens. https://www.teenink.com/
  5. Epic Reads - www.epicreads.com
  6. Reading Rants - http://www.readingrants.org/
  7. School Library Journal - http://www.slj.com/ check out the blogs section
  8. Fantastic Fiction - www.fantasticfiction.co.uk/ see what your favorite author(s) like to read
  9. Kirkus Reviews - https://www.kirkusreviews.com/
  10. Pacific Northwest Young Readers Choice Awards http://www.pnla.org/yrca
  11. Harper Teen http://harperteen.com/
  12. Booklists for Young Adults on the Web  http://www.seemore.mi.org/booklists/fiction.html
  13.  YALSA Book Awards - http://www.ala.org/yalsa/booklistsawards/bookawards
  14. New York Public Library Teenlink http://teenlink.nypl.org/index.html
  15. Amazon Teens Page http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/tg/browse/-/28/104-4198368-5955135
  16. Booktalks Quick and Simple (for descriptions of titles) http://nancykeane.com/booktalks/
  17. IPL Teenspace - http://www.ipl.org/div/teen/browse/rw7600/
  18. Fiction Book Lists from Carnegie Library Pittsburgh http://www.carnegielibrary.org/teens/books/allfiction.cfm
  19. Oprah's Lists http://www.oprah.com/books/books_landing.jhtml
  20. Young Adult Bk Reviews Blog - http://youngadultbookreviews.com/
  21. VOYA http://www.voya.com/topics/health/
  22. High School Literature Sites http://www.multnomah.lib.or.us/lib/homework/hslit.html
  23. Highly Recommended Books for Guys- http://www.guysread.com/


Free Public Domain 

  1. Free public domain books- http://ebookfriendly.com/free-public-domain-books-sources/
  2. Google Books - http://books.google.com/
  3. Hundred Zeros A collection of best-selling eBooks that are currently free on Amazon. - http://hundredzeros.com/books/teen-young-adult-books 
  4. Internet Archive http://archive.org/details.php?identifier=texts
  5. Bookspot - http://www.bookspot.com/

Reading Group Choices - http://www.readinggroupchoices.com/

READ ALIKES (If you like books like… then read…)
  1. Novel List - http://sled.idm.oclc.org/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=novelist
  2. ATN Reading Lists -https://sites.google.com/site/atnreadinglists/ -a focused reading list for teachers.

Book Reviews
  1. New York Times Books http://www.nytimes.com/books/ (Sign up for a free subscription or use the library user namesthslib password: 12345)
  2. Barnes and Noble http://www.barnesandnoble.com
  3. Booklist http://www.ala.org/booklist/
  4. Bookspot http://bookspot.com/reviews/
  5. New York Review of Books http://www.nybooks.com/nyrev/index.html
  6. Washington Post: Chapter One http://www.washingtonpost.com/wp-srv/style/books/features/chapone.htm

Comments