staff‎ > ‎staff-articles‎ > ‎

2012 BP Teachers of Excellence

posted Apr 28, 2012, 8:57 AM by Mark Nance

Courtesy Daily Sitka Sentinel


Mt. Edgecumbe High School teacher Michael Mahoney was among four Southeast Alaska teachers honored as 2012 BP Teachers of Excellence. The program was expanded in 2012 and opened to all Alaska school districts. Thirty Alaska teachers were honored. The statewide program attracted more than 1,400 nominations.


Mahoney teaches grades nine through 12. A lifelong Alaskan, Mahoney grew up in Kodiak and has been teaching at MEHS for 14 years. In partnership with the Scripps Institution of Oceanography, Mahoney created a sea-technology internship program where his students study whale acoustics.

The BP Teachers of Excellence program recognizes teachers for their dedication to teaching and for inspiring students. Each teacher receives a $500 gift card and an award certificate. In addition, the teacher’s school receives a matching $500.