2015 Sessions

Educating Global Citizens



Presenters, to post references and contact information, please refer to the instructions sent by Martin Pflug.

101 Quest Mexico

Jay Newcomb, jaynewcomb.mn@gmail.com


102 Engaging Beginning Students with 90%+ Target Language

Jim Tripp, jim.tripp@springgrove.k12.mn.us

PPT


103 Top Apps for the Spanish Classroom: An Introduction

Gwendolyn Barnes-Karol and Kristina Medina-Vilariño, St. Olaf College

barnesg@stolaf.edu, medinavi@stolaf.edu

Top Apps PDF


104 Engaging Students to Be Highly Motivated Readers in a Foreign Language

Sebastien Saunoi-Sandgren

sebastien.saunoi@breckschool.org

Prezi Multimedia

Enjoy, and please do not use the presentation for your own gain but rather as a reference. 


106 Department Chair Roundtable

Agnes Matheson, The Blake School

amatheson@blakeschool.org


107 Second Language Workbook: Applying Second Language Learning to Future Careers

Monica K. Marciniak


108 Transitioning to 100%TL

Amanda Stenberg, Mora Schools, website

astenberg@moraschools.org

German Rules that I post

Rubrics for speaking German in class, etc

My presentation



201 Cooking in a Cultural Context

Mary Thrond

mary.thrond@gmail.com


202 Using Student Narratives to Transform Language Learning

Helene Vincent

helene.vincent@ef.com


203 Every Second Counts! Maximizing Our Time with Classroom Management, Student Engagement, and Transitions

Faith Laux

faithlaux@winnetka36.org


205 Stories and Meaning-Based Language

Jon Dicus

jdicusl@blakeschool.org


206 Teachers Pay Teachers

Erin Austin (Poudre High School) & Betsy Grawe (Lakeville South High School)

eaustin@psdschools.org, theprofestore@gmail.com

Erin's French TPT store

Betsy's Spanish TPT store

PDF of the presentation


207 Teaching to the Test: A good thing

Dr. Phyllis E. VanBuren and Elizabeth Valencia-Borgert, St. Cloud State University

pevanburen@stcloudstate.edu ecvalenciaborgert@stcloudstate.edu


208 Learn How YOU Can Teach in China in July 2016

Gloria Juedeman, We Teach in China

weteachinchina@yahoo.com



301 Game-Based Learning & Assessment

Jessica Wanless, Breck School

jessica.wanless@breckschool.org

Game-Based Learning & Assessment Presentation w/ Links


302 A Focus on Community: Adressing place, purpose, and belonging through target language communication

Paul J. Hoff, University of Wisconsin Eau Claire

hoffpj@uwec.edu


303 The Music in Language

Jan Holter-Kittok, Educator in Service

jankittok@frontiernet.net


305 Hosting Students from Abroad: A practical how-to

Jennifer Mikolajczyk, International Student Experiences jenniferm@isemn.org


306 NNELL - Begin Early in Preparing Global Citizens

Kathy Olson-Studler, St. Paul Academy

goodrich.spanish@gmail.com


307 The "R" of TPRS

Melanie Bruyers, Centennial Middle and High School,www.isd12.org

mbruyers@isd12.org

powerpoint


308 Is is working? Assessing the impact of teaching practices

Elizabeth Harsma, MSU, Mankato, 

http://faculty.mnsu.edu/elizabethharsma/

elizabeth.harsma@mnsu.edu

View the PPT



401 CI: The 6th ACTFL C

Carol Gaab, TPRS Publishing, Inc.

https://tprstorytelling.com/


402 Making Global Connections Through Skype

Fernando Males, Segunda Lengua Spanish School

Kay Edberg, Mora High School

kedberg@moraschools.org

fernandomales@hotmail.com

View the pre and post Skype activities as well as topics to discuss


403 Engaging and Motivating All Learners Cheryl Kincaid


405 Bringing Local Voices into Global Education

Richard Benton, PhD

richardlanguage@gmail.com

Presentation slides

Loving Language Blog

Speak to Hear Site


406 Networking in the Target Language

Facilitated by MCTLC


407 Developing Global Perspectives in the World Language Classroom

Karen Fowdy, Independent Consultant

http://fowdyhendrickson.wikispaces.com

wlworkshops5@gmail.com

How can our world language classes prepare our students to be culturally competent global citizens? Explore how common language themes can incorporate cultural perspectives to develop global citizens who want to learn about the world.


408 Challenges for Teachers Teaching Native Speakers in their Spanish Classes

Ursula Lentz, MDE

Ursula.Lentz@state.mn.us


501 MN Teacher of the Year

Grant Boulanger, Skyview Middle School

grantboulanger@gmail.com


502 Using Digital Tools to Engage Students with the World

Megan Budke

megan.budke@gmail.com

Session resources


503 Informes — Great Artists of Spain and Latin America

Patricia Murray, Suzanne Engel Zobitz, and Kathleen Roy

pmurray@c-dh.org

Slide show


505 Bilingual Seals and the Proficiency Certificate - Powerful Tool to Recognize Students' Language Assets and Academic Motivation

Ayumi Stockman, Annika Fjelstad, Minneapolis Public Schools, http://worldlanguages.mpls.k12.mn.us/bilingual_seal_testing

Ayumi Stockman@mpls.k12.mn.us

Annika.Fjelstad@mpls.k12.mn.us

PPT

Ceremony photo slide show

FAQs for MPS students

FAQs for implementation


506 Cool Technology Tools and How to Use Them for Teaching World Languages

Emily Thomas

emthomas01@gmail.com


507 Juntos: an innovative approach to a Spanish immersion continuation program

Lisa Sohn

Lisa.Sohn@hopkinsschools.org


508 Crossing Cultures Through Literary Learning

Dr. Lisa Twomey and Dr. Fanny Roncal Ramirez, Concordia College
twomey@cord.edu froncalr@cord.edu
Ċ
Presenter Conference,
Jan 5, 2016, 8:00 AM
ĉ
Presenter Conference,
Oct 27, 2015, 2:29 PM
ĉ
Presenter Conference,
Oct 27, 2015, 2:29 PM
ĉ
Presenter Conference,
Oct 27, 2015, 2:32 PM
ć
Presenter Conference,
Oct 27, 2015, 2:21 PM
ć
Presenter Conference,
Oct 27, 2015, 2:23 PM
Ċ
Presenter Conference,
Nov 18, 2015, 4:06 AM
Ċ
Presenter Conference,
Oct 29, 2015, 1:08 PM
ć
Presenter Conference,
Oct 27, 2015, 5:59 AM
Ċ
Brooke Carlson (Webmaster),
Nov 2, 2015, 8:28 AM
Comments