Clubs and Activities

Students at Central have many opportunities to get involved in clubs and activities! 

Student Government and Student Class activities are listed first. A list of other clubs and and organizations follows in alphabetical order.

Student Council

Advisor: Kelly Fox kfox@mansd.org, and Jeff Howe jhowe@mansd.org  
Description:Student Government for the school 

Senior Class

Advisor:  Abbigail Gemme agemme@mansd.org
Description: Assist senior class officers with any senior activities. Dues, tee shirt sales, fundraisers, cap and gown measurement and distribution, graduation, prom.  

Junior Class

Advisors:  Lauren Dean ldean@mansd.org and Kendra Robert krobert@mansd.org 
Description: 
The Junior class advisers help the class officers and other juniors plan events and fundraisers.  This year's focus is on planning the Junior semi-formal, which will be held on April 12, 2013.  We are also working on dues collection to gear up for the many expenses that accompany senior year.  Parents who wish to assist or have questions should e-mail Ms. Gemme.  Students who wish to get involved should see Ms. Gemme in room 418.

Sophomore Class

Advisors: R. Spiro rspiro@mansd.org and S. Wadleigh swadleigh@mansd.org
Description: Class activities, fundraisers and dues collection

Freshman Class

Advisors: Carol MacDonald cmacdonald@mansd.org
Description: Class activities, fundraisers and dues collection


Aglaia Yearbook

Advisor: Dawn OConnor,  doconnor@mansd.org and Gerry Coffey gcoffey@mansd.org

Description:Meetings are every Thursday after school in room 504. 

Amnesty International Central High School Chapter

Advisor :Jane Raymond,  jraymond@mansd.org
http://www.amnestyusa.org/

Description: We write letters to various officials concerning human rights abuses, death penalty issues, protection of women and children, war crimes, prisoners of conscience . This year we are participating in Amnesty's Write-a thon in December.
The group goes on a one day trip to New York City in April for Get on the Bus for Human Rights
http://www.gotb.org/

The group meets about twice a month in the morning in Room 627 for breakfast and letter writing. 

Archives

Advisor:Corey Doherty, cdoherty@mansd.org

Information will eventually be put on the school website
Description: Archives is currently organizing and cataloging the many archival items that make up Central History. 

Central Cares

Advisors: Lori Wike,  lwike@mansd.org and Lesley Fallu,  lfallu@mansd.org

Description: Central Cares is a service learning organization. We do service project for our greater school community. We are affiliated with the national Community of Caring organization founded by Eunice Kennedy Shriver. We sponsor the toy drive each November. All students are welcome!

We meet Tuesday after school from 3:00 - 4:00 every week in Room 4. Other metings are also announced on CVN.


Central Crew

Advisor Zachary Saunders

Please see the following page for more information

www.centralcrew.org


Central High Robotics Team

Advisory: Mr and Mrs Kelso Kelso131@gmail.com
Website www.chaos131.com

Description:   Our team participates in robotics programs. As a FIRST Robotics team, students are expected to spend time inspiring and mentoring younger students and spreading the values of FIRST Robotics. Our team has won the BAE Regional Engineering Inspiration Award two years in a row. Students on the team are expected to maintain an average of 3.0 or higher. They must also be able to manage time well due to
the time that the team requires of them. 

Central Key Club

Shelli Cook, Advisor  scook@mansd.org
www.keyclub.org

A volunteer community and school service organization, members earn service hours through numerous fun events throughout the year. Membership meetings are in the cafe every Wednesday @ 2:45 PM. All Central students are welcome.

Central Pride Foundation

www.centralpridefoundation.org

President is Christine Pariseau-Telge cptelge@yahoo.com
centralpride@mansd.org

Mission Statement:The mission of the Central Pride Foundation is to establish a non-profit 501 C3 foundation to support the enrichment of the educational process at Manchester Central High School.

General Activities:Raise funds through charitable contributions to the 501 C3 non-profit foundation. To fund enrichment programs which enhance the educational experience for the students at Central High School.

To develop a base of funds for distribution for enrichment at Central High School through the Board of Directors. The board will consist of community leaders, alumni and current CHS administrators.

Purpose
  • To purchase technology for Central High School.
  • To support student academic competitions and field trips.
  • To supplement the purchase of academic materials and funding for student publications.
  • To arrange for and fund guest speakers and lecturers.
  • To fund and enhance other academic activities at Central High School that improve the educational experience. 

CVN (Central Vision News)

Advisor: Ceferino Duana cduana@mansd.org

Description:CVN is the close circuit television network at Central High School. Our purpose is to foster CENTRAL PRIDE. This is achieved by keeping the student body informed of any upcoming events and /or meetings held by the very many organizations here at Central. In addition we inform the student body of their peers athletic and academic achievements. As a new feature added this year we also keep them up to date as to what the weather is currently and for the next day.

All announcements must be submitted by a faculty or staff in the form of an email. 

DECA

Advisors:
Taryn Zuccala tzuccala@mansd.org
Jim Colby       JColby@mansd.org

Our club explores marketing through conferences and field trips, puts on events, fundraises for trips, and competes at both the state and national level.

 Law Club

Advisor: Stephanie Ferro sferro@mansd.org

Description:Meet every other Wednesday morning in the PA building to discuss current legal issues and events.

National Art Honor Society Chapter 2521

Advisor:
Corey Doherty, cdoherty@mansd.org
Janet Soucy, jmsoucy@mansd.org

Description: National Art Honor Society works with students who have a strong interest in the visual arts. Field trips and community based art activities encompass the activities.

National English Honor Society, Grace Metalious Chapter

Advisor: Selma Naccach-Hoff, snaccach@mansd.org

Description:Members are comprised of students who have maintained a B+ or better in every English class for at least three semesters. NEHS students conduct tutorials in writing in the Library. Check with English teachers to find out the schedule. 

Oracle

Advisor: Selma Naccach-Hoff, snaccach@mansd.org

 Description:The Oracle is Central's literary/arts magazine, publishing student work continuously since 1903. Students may submit poetry, short stories, essays, book reviews, photos and art work for publishing.

Rho Kappa

Advisor: Chad Sandford, csandford@mansd.org

Description: Rho Kappa is a National Honor Society for Social Studies.  The mission and the purpose of this organization is to promote scholarship and to recognize academic excellence in social studies among high school students, to provide opportunities for exploration in the social studies in secondary school environments and the community, and to encourage interest in, understanding of, and appreciation for the social studies.  Members are students who have excelled in a variety of social studies classes, have an overall GPA of 3.0, and are committed to civic engagement through community service projects sponsored by the organization.  More information can be found in the local chapter’s by-laws, found here


The TRIBE

Todd Libby, Advisor  tlibby@mansd.org

http://www.nhiaa.org/school_sport_list.cfm?SC=MAC

Our mission as The Tribe is to promote and instill School Pride throughout the CHS community, as well as increase attendance at CHS sporting events and other school sponsored events. Membership meetings are in the caf every Thurday @ 2:45 PM. All Central students are welcome.

 WORLD LANGUAGE HONOR SOCIETY

Advisors:
Sra. LARKIN klarkin@mansd.org
Sra. FRAZIER mfrazier@mansd.org

Description:The purpose of the Central High School's World Language Honor Society is to recognize scholastic achievement in the study of German, French, Spanish and Latin. The Society promotes interest in the studey of a world language and promotes culutral understanding within the Central community.

The World Language Honor Society works closely with the English Language Learners Department to sponsor TASTE OF CENTRAL, a muticultural dinner. The dinner provides an opportunity for our community to experience and enjoy cultural differences through food and entertainment.

The World Language Honor Society raises money to offer a $500 scholarship to a graduating senior who intends to continue their language studies at the university level.

Showing 2 items
Club and Programs
Sort 
 
Club and Programs
21st Century Community Learning 
Central Crew 
Showing 2 items
Comments