Clubs and Activities

Students at Central have many opportunities to get involved in clubs and activities! 

Student Council and Student Class activities are listed first. A list of other clubs and and organizations follows in alphabetical order.

Student Council

Advisor: Jeff Howe jhowe@mansd.org  

Senior Class

Advisor: Carol MacDonald cmacdonald@mansd.org

Parents who wish to assist or have questions should e-mail Mrs. MacDonald. Students who wish to get involved should see Mrs. MacDonald in Room 522.  For information regarding upcoming Senior Class dates (dues, cap & gown measurements, and pictures) please click here.

Assists senior class officers with any senior activities including dues, tee shirt sales, fundraisers, cap and gown measurement and distribution, prom, and graduation.  

Junior Class

Advisor: Abby Gemme agemme@mansd.org 

The Junior class advisor helps the class officers and other juniors plan events and fundraisers. We are also working on dues collection to gear up for the many expenses that accompany senior year. 

Sophomore Class

Advisors:  Lauren Wenners lwenners@mansd.org 
                Kendra Robert krobert@mansd.org 

Responsible for planning class activities, fundraisers and dues collection for the sophomore class

Freshman Class

Advisors:  R. Spiro rspiro@mansd.org
                S. Wadleigh swadleigh@mansd.org 

Responsible for planning class activities, fundraisers and dues collection for the freshman class


21st Century Community Learning Center


Aglaia Yearbook

Advisors:  Kelly Fox kfox@mansd.org
                Kathryn Hunter khunter@mansd.org

Meetings are every Thursday after school in room 504. 

Information for Seniors:  Senior quotes and superlatives are going to be completed online this year.  Please go to http://goo.gl/forms/Sv9iqp1HPf and complete the Google form.  All quotes and superlatives need to be completed by January 22, 2016.  See Mrs. Hunter in the library if you have any questions.

Amnesty Club

Advisor:  Jane Raymond jraymond@mansd.org
http://www.amnestyusa.org/

We write letters to various officials concerning human rights abuses, death penalty issues, protection of women and children, war crimes, prisoners of conscience . This year we are participating in Amnesty's Write-a-thon in December.
The group goes on a one day trip to New York City in April for Get on the Bus for Human Rights
http://www.gotb.org/

The upcoming meetings are on September 29, October 13 and October 27 at 7 AM in Room 627. All are welcome.

Archives

Advisor:  Abby Gemme agemme@mansd.org

Archives is currently organizing and cataloging the many archival items that make up Central History. 

Central Cares

Advisors:  Lori Wike lwike@mansd.org
                Lesley Fallu lfallu@mansd.org

Central Cares is a service learning organization. We do service project for our greater school community. We are affiliated with the national Community of Caring organization founded by Eunice Kennedy Shriver. We sponsor the toy drive each November. All students are welcome!

We meet Tuesday after school from 3:00 - 4:00 every week in Room 4. Other meetings are also announced on CVN.


Central Crew

Advisor: Zachary Saunders

Please see the following page for more information

www.centralcrew.org


Central High Robotics Team

Advisor: Mr. and Mrs. Kelso Kelso131@gmail.com
Website www.chaos131.com

Our team participates in robotics programs. As a FIRST Robotics team, students are expected to spend time inspiring and mentoring younger students and spreading the values of FIRST Robotics. Our team has won the BAE Regional Engineering Inspiration Award two years in a row. Students on the team are expected to maintain an average of 3.0 or higher. They must also be able to manage time well due to the time that the team requires of them. 

Central Key Club

Advisor: Rosie Shaw rshaw@mansd.org
www.keyclub.org

A volunteer community and school service organization, members earn service hours through numerous fun events throughout the year. Membership meetings are in the cafe on the first and third Wednesday of every month at 3:00 PM. All Central students are welcome.

Central Pride Foundation

www.centralpridefoundation.org

President: Christine Pariseau-Telge cptelge@yahoo.com
centralpride@mansd.org

The mission of the Central Pride Foundation is to establish a non-profit 501 C3 foundation to support the enrichment of the educational process at Manchester Central High School.

General Activities:  Raise funds through charitable contributions to the 501 C3 non-profit foundation. To fund enrichment programs which enhance the educational experience for the students at Central High School.

To develop a base of funds for distribution for enrichment at Central High School through the Board of Directors. The board will consist of community leaders, alumni and current CHS administrators.

Purpose:
  • To purchase technology for Central High School.
  • To support student academic competitions and field trips.
  • To supplement the purchase of academic materials and funding for student publications.
  • To arrange for and fund guest speakers and lecturers.
  • To fund and enhance other academic activities at Central High School that improve the educational experience. 


Central Students for Equality

Advisor: Geoff Giotas Contact: CHSequality@gmail.com, ggiotas@mansd.org 

Central Students for Equality strives to make Central a safe and comfortable environment for people of all sexual orientations and gender identities. Our meetings are a place for students to express themselves and their thoughts on a wide range of issues affecting the CHS community. Meetings are typically held in Room 503, and all students interested in our cause are encouraged to attend.  See Mr. Giotas for more information.


CVN (Central Vision News)

Advisor: Ceferino Duana cduana@mansd.org

CVN is the close circuit television network at Central High School. Our purpose is to foster CENTRAL PRIDE. This is achieved by keeping the student body informed of any upcoming events and /or meetings held by the very many organizations here at Central. In addition we inform the student body of their peers athletic and academic achievements. As a new feature added this year we also keep them up to date as to what the weather is currently and for the next day.

All announcements must be submitted by a faculty or staff in the form of an email. 

DECA

Advisor:  Maja Ignjic mignjic@mansd.org

Our club explores marketing through conferences and field trips, puts on events, fundraises for trips, and competes at both the state and national level.

Law Club

Advisor: Stephanie Ferro sferro@mansd.org

 Meet every other Wednesday morning in the PA building to discuss current legal issues and events. 

Life of an Athlete

Advisors: Diane Antoscia dantoscia@mansd.org
               Joe Silveira jsilveira@mansd.org
               Rachel Hedge rhedge@mansd.org

The mission of Life of a Little Green Athlete is to promote healthy lifestyles for student-athletes with emphasis on proper nutrition, rest, and substance-free living.  More about the NHIAA Life of an Athlete program can be found here: http://www.loanh.org/ 


Mock Trial Team

Advisors:  Margaret Burke mburke@mansd.org 
                John Rist

Coaches:  Ashley Scott
                Jamie Meyers-Maloney

Students learn the fundamentals of a trial by performing in the roles of attorneys and witnesses for both the prosecution and the defense.  This is an interscholastic team that competes against other high schools in mock trials.  Open to any interested student.  Season is September through February.

National Art Honor Society Chapter 2521

Advisors:  Corey Doherty cdoherty@mansd.org
                Janet Soucy jmsoucy@mansd.org

National Art Honor Society works with students who have a strong interest in the visual arts. Field trips and community based art activities encompass the activities.

National English Honor Society, Grace Metalious Chapter

Advisor: Selma Naccach-Hoff snaccach@mansd.org

Members are comprised of students who have maintained a B+ or better in every English class for at least three semesters. NEHS students conduct tutorials in writing in the Library. Check with English teachers to find out the schedule. 

National Honor Society

Advisor: Kathy Mirabile kmirabile@mansd.org


Oracle

Advisor: Selma Naccach-Hoff snaccach@mansd.org

The Oracle is Central's literary/arts magazine, publishing student work continuously since 1903. Students may submit poetry, short stories, essays, book reviews, photos and art work for publishing.

Rho Kappa

Advisor: Chad Sandford csandford@mansd.org

Rho Kappa is a National Honor Society for Social Studies.  The mission and the purpose of this organization is to promote scholarship and to recognize academic excellence in social studies among high school students, to provide opportunities for exploration in the social studies in secondary school environments and the community, and to encourage interest in, understanding of, and appreciation for the social studies.  Members are students who have excelled in a variety of social studies classes, have an overall GPA of 3.0, and are committed to civic engagement through community service projects sponsored by the organization.  More information can be found in the local chapter’s by-laws, found here


The Science Club

Advisor: Ellen Tourigny etourigny@mansd.org

Regular meetings will be the first and third Thursdays after school in Room 608. 


The TRIBE


http://www.nhiaa.org/school_sport_list.cfm?SC=MAC

Our mission as The Tribe is to promote and instill School Pride throughout the CHS community, as well as increase attendance at CHS sporting events and other school sponsored events.

World Language Honor Society

Advisors:  Maureen Frazier mfrazier@mansd.org
                Catherine Moreau cmoreau@mansd.org

The purpose of the Central High School's World Language Honor Society is to recognize scholastic achievement in the study of German, French, Spanish and Latin. The Society promotes interest in the study of a world language and promotes cultural understanding within the Central community.

The World Language Honor Society works closely with the English Language Learners Department to sponsor TASTE OF CENTRAL, a muticultural dinner. The dinner provides an opportunity for our community to experience and enjoy cultural differences through food and entertainment.

The World Language Honor Society raises money to offer a $500 scholarship to a graduating senior who intends to continue their language studies at the university level.