Web 2.0 Tools‎ > ‎

Literacy Resources

These literacy resources were recommended in the November issue of Tech and Learning.
 
The resources have been divided into 3 categories: an App, Download or Web Tool.
 
Showing 12 items
Link NameLinkDescription
Sort 
 
Sort 
 
Sort 
 
Link NameLinkDescription
App - Chicktionary Lite http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/chicktionary-lite/id299636943?mt=8 The chicken bobs its head and clucks when kids use one of their letters to make a word. The "Beak Sneak" option fills in one letter of each of the words not yet found. 
App - K12 Timed Reading Practice Lite http://www.ifreeware.net/download-k12-timed-reading-practice-lite.html This app features 25 short, engaging stories for K-4 readers that feature a variety of fiction and non-fiction and 10 Flesh-Kincade reading levels. 
App - Kid Apps: 13 in 1 http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/kid-apps-13-in-1/id386807019?mt=8 This App is 13 games in 1. It includes math games, over 600 flash cards, interactive tracing drills, the ABCs, counting, vocabulary, number and letter tracing, a Math Whiz Quiz, a musical-instrument vocabulary, words for (and pictures of) things around the house and more. 
App - Puppet Animation Lite http://appshopper.com/entertainment/puppet-animation-lite App that allowskids to animate uploaded images or sample puppets and animate them by choosing Swing, Elastic, or Scaling. They then save the animation as a .gif. 
App - Read Me Stories http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/read-me-stories-childrens/id362042422?mt=8 An app that showcases a different talking book every day that teaches children new concepts and new words and how to say them. 
App - StoryKit http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/storykit/id329374595?mt=8 This is an App for the IPhone / IPod that allows the user to create an electronic storybook by drawing on the screen, uploading images, recording sound effects and voices. 
Download - Talking Tom Cat http://www.appbrain.com/app/talking-tom-cat-free/com.outfit7.talkingtom This download allows kids to talk to Tom, and he repeats in a funny voice everything that is said. Within seconds the student's words are recorded as a video of Tom talking that can be uploaded to a teacher's site. 
Web Tool - Animoto http://animoto.com/ Upload images and/or video clips, choose a soundtrack from the library and click a button to make a 30-second video. Students can then download the video for offline viewing. 
Web Tool - FotoBabble http://www.fotobabble.com/ Quickly create and easily share talking photos in three steps. 
Web Tool - Lit2Go http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/ This site provides numerous narrated stories that pair up with a downlodable .pdf file. A great way to add extra audio books to your classroom collection. 
Web Tool - Story Line Online http://www.storylineonline.net/ A highly interactive website used by WM and NW 1st grade teachers to revisit the Daily 5 strategies of Reading. Each story is read by an actor that is a member of the Actor's Guild. 
Web Tool - Tate Tales http://blog.tate.org.uk/tate-tales/ Students let their imaginations run wild when they select a painting from the Tate gallery's collection. They can interrupt the painting by making up a story about it. This site has other fun activities as well. 
Showing 12 items
Comments