Householder Award

Nominations are solicited for the Alston S. Householder Award XIV (2011). The award will be presented to the author of the best dissertation in numerical linear algebra submitted by the recipient of a PhD earned between January 1, 2008, and December 31, 2010. The term numerical linear algebra is intended to describe those parts of mathematical research that have both linear algebraic aspects and numerical content or implications. Thus, for example, a dissertation concerned with the numerical solution of differential equations or the numerical solution of an optimization problem would be eligible if linear algebra is central to the research contribution. To qualify, the dissertation must have been submitted to fulfill requirements for a PhD degree or equivalent. Candidates from countries in which a formal dissertation is not normally written at that level may submit an equivalent piece of work. The Householder Award, given every three years, was established at the 1969 Gatlinburg Symposium (now renamed the Householder Symposium) to recognize the outstanding contributions of Alston S. Householder, 1904-1993, to numerical analysis and linear algebra. Entries will be assessed by an international committee consisting of

Michele Benzi, Emory University
James Demmel, University of California, Berkeley (chair)
Howard Elman, University of Maryland
Volker Mehrmann, Tehcnical University of Berlin
Sabine Van Huffel, Catholic University of Leuven
Stephen Vavasis, University of Waterloo

The candidate's research supervisor (or sponsor) must submit a copy of the dissertation and an appraisal; see link below. At least one other letter of recommendation supporting the nomination is required. All submitted materials must be in pdf format and be received no later than January 31, 2011.

Click here to go to the Householder Award nomination page.

Click here to submit a letter to support a Householder Award nomination.

The award will be presented at the Householder Symposium XVIII, to be held June 12-17, 2011 in Tahoe City, California, U.S.A. Candidates on the short list will receive invitations to the meeting.

Previous Householder Award winners were

1971   F. Robert (Grenoble)
1974   Ole Hald (New York University)
1977   Daniel D. Warner (University of California, San Diego)
1981   E. Marques de Sa' (Coimbra); Paul Van Dooren (K. U. Leuven) - shared
1984   Ralph Byers (Cornell University); James M. Demmel (University of California, Berkeley) - shared
1987   Nicholas J. Higham (University of Manchester)
1990   Alan Edelman (Massachusetts Institute of Technology) ; Maria Beth Ong (University of Washington) - shared
1993   Hong-Guo Xu (Fudan University) ; Barry Smith (New York University) - shared
1996   Ming Gu (Yale University)
1999   Jörg Liesen (Bielefeld)
2002   Jing-Rebecca Li (Massachusetts Institute of Technology)
2005   Jasper van den Eshof (Utrecht University)
2008   David Bindel (University of California, Berkeley)


      For additional information, please contact