Veterans Park -- on 14 picturesque acres between South B and South C streets and New London Road -- honors men and women who have served in the American military. In 1995, Hillcrest Park was renamed Veterans Park. In 1932, the City of Hamilton -- which had recently acquired the land -- leased a 200-square-foot tract to American Legion Post 138 for 25 years. Previously, it had been the site of a stone quarry and a garbage crematory. Recalling the locality of their 1918-1919 war experiences, Dr. Hugh Baker suggested that the veterans building be in the Norman-French chateau style of architecture. The one-story stone structure was dedicated Oct. 30, 1932. World War II swelled the ranks of the American Legion and April 15, 1945, Post 138 dedicated its new home at 116 North Second Street. The 13-year-old New London Road property reverted to the city and became Hillcrest Municipal Park until being designated Veterans Park in 1995.
The Michael J. Colligan Lodge in Veterans Park was restored and reopened for public use under the sponsorship of the Michael J. Colligan Fund of the Hamilton Community Foundation. The $430,000 project was part of the foundation's 50th anniversary observance. Restoration on the former American Legion Building and Hillcrest Center began in the Summer of 2000 and was completed in late Spring 2001. The lodge was rededicated May 18, 2001. The building, operated by the Hamilton Parks and Recreation Department, is available for meetings, receptions and other special events.