Butler County Place Names‎ > ‎O‎ > ‎

Oxford Theological Seminary

Oxford Theological Seminary, chartered Jan. 16, 1838, "was established and controlled by the Associate Reformed Presbyterian Synod of the West," said the 1882 county history. The Rev. Joseph Claybaugh was its first professor when it opened in the fall of 1839 in a building shared with the Associate Reformed Presbyterian congregation of Oxford. He remained until his death Sept. 9, 1855. The seminary was moved in 1858 to Monmouth, Ill. The 1882 history said that during its 19 years in Oxford, "more than 100 students received theological instruction." The church built in 1838, often called the "Old Seminary," is at the northeast corner of East Church and Poplar streets.

Return to Index